Upgrade a D-Link DSL-G624T without ethernet working!

All about firmwares for routers. Support for RouterTech firmwares is here too.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: Upgrade a D-Link DSL-G624T without ethernet working!

Post by thechief » Fri Jul 11, 2014 11:15 pm

Download your adm6996 binary to the router, compress it, and copy it to /nvram

Code: Select all

chmod 0755 /var/adm6996
maketar /nvram/adm.tar.gz /var/adm6996
flush
rm -f /var/adm6996
This only needs to be done once. The compressed file should fit within the 448kb.

Then change your startup.sh to this

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
. /usr/local/bin/rt_utils.sh # for LOG_MSG()
tar -zxf /nvram/adm.tar.gz -C /var
LOG_MSG "Started resetting the ethernet ports"
/var/adm6996 0x1 0x8000 #lan port 4
/var/adm6996 0x3 0x8000 #lan port 3
/var/adm6996 0x5 0x8000 #lan port 2
/var/adm6996 0x7 0x8000 #lan port 1
rm /var/adm6996
LOG_MSG "Finished resetting the ethernet ports"
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
blueberry
Novice
Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:43 am

Re: Upgrade a D-Link DSL-G624T without ethernet working!

Post by blueberry » Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:25 pm

The partition was created now but... it doesn't work :(
However, I also tried to start paths from /nvram

Code: Select all

[...]
tar -zxf adm.tar.gz -C /../var
LOG_MSG "Started resetting the ethernet ports"
/../var/adm6996 0x1 0x8000 #lan port 4
[...]
The files adm.tar.gz and startup.sh remain in /nvram.
In system log the messages in startup.sh don't appear!
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: Upgrade a D-Link DSL-G624T without ethernet working!

Post by thechief » Thu Jul 17, 2014 11:40 pm

What's in /var/ ?
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
blueberry
Novice
Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:43 am

Re: Upgrade a D-Link DSL-G624T without ethernet working!

Post by blueberry » Fri Jul 18, 2014 6:10 pm

There isn't adm6996 extracted! Default folders only are there.
The /var/var is empty instead.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: Upgrade a D-Link DSL-G624T without ethernet working!

Post by thechief » Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:37 pm

Well, there you have your answer. All you need to do is to ensure that the tarball is created correctly, and can extract correctly. Once you have done that, you can copy it to /nvram/, and then your script will work.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
blueberry
Novice
Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:43 am

Re: Upgrade a D-Link DSL-G624T without ethernet working!

Post by blueberry » Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:34 pm

I tried to run the extract operation manually by copy and paste every line of script. The operation was successfull.
It seems that the script doesn't start!
Other commands that ends with .sh run correctly.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: Upgrade a D-Link DSL-G624T without ethernet working!

Post by thechief » Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:56 pm

Are you sure that the script's executable flag is set?
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
blueberry
Novice
Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:43 am

Re: Upgrade a D-Link DSL-G624T without ethernet working!

Post by blueberry » Mon Sep 22, 2014 4:22 pm

Yes. I set them with chmod a+x on adm.tar.gz and startup.sh.
System Log don't show nothing however.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: Upgrade a D-Link DSL-G624T without ethernet working!

Post by thechief » Sat Sep 27, 2014 5:18 pm

Well, I have nothing else to suggest. It should work. Did you create the tarball on the router itself?
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
Post Reply