The independent technical support site for all things networking!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 6 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Island in Lake/Point to Point Wifi Bridge/Router Power Issue
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:53 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:16 pm
Posts: 3
Good Day:

My system involves two houses (one on land and one on an island in a lake 2km away) and a Point to Point Wi-Fi bridge made by GNS Wireless. The modem in house #1 has a static IP address which is used by the remote router in house #2 at the other end of the wifi bridge. The router in house #2 is set to this static IP address. The router in house #2 is effectively hard wired to the modem in house #1 through the bridge and LAN port.

When house #1 with the cable modem loses power (this happens frequently) the router in house #2 does not lose power as house #2 is off the grid and powered by batteries. When the power comes back to house #1 the wifi bridge reactivates just fine, but in order to have the wifi work in house #2 I must power cycle the router in house #2. This is a problem because I want to monitor systems in house #2 when I am away from both properties and the wifi is down in house #2 after a power failure until I reboot the modem. Is there a way to avoid the need to reboot the router? Is there another way to set this up?

Thanks, Ian


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Island in Lake/Point to Point Wifi Bridge/Router Power I
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:22 am 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Posts: 12037
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
poyntz wrote:
Good Day:

My system involves two houses (one on land and one on an island in a lake 2km away) and a Point to Point Wi-Fi bridge made by GNS Wireless. The modem in house #1 has a static IP address which is used by the remote router in house #2 at the other end of the wifi bridge. The router in house #2 is set to this static IP address. The router in house #2 is effectively hard wired to the modem in house #1 through the bridge and LAN port.

When house #1 with the cable modem loses power (this happens frequently) the router in house #2 does not lose power as house #2 is off the grid and powered by batteries. When the power comes back to house #1 the wifi bridge reactivates just fine, but in order to have the wifi work in house #2 I must power cycle the router in house #2. This is a problem because I want to monitor systems in house #2 when I am away from both properties and the wifi is down in house #2 after a power failure until I reboot the modem. Is there a way to avoid the need to reboot the router? Is there another way to set this up?

Thanks, Ian
If your router #2 supports cron and scripting, set up a cron job that will ping Google's servers periodically (e.g., every hour or whatever), and, if it the ping is unsuccessful, then to reboot itself or restart its network interfaces.

_________________
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Island in Lake/Point to Point Wifi Bridge/Router Power I
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:42 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:16 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks for the info Chief.

Do you know where one can buy a Router that will accept the script to run a cron job? For home use can you please recommend one?

Ian


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Island in Lake/Point to Point Wifi Bridge/Router Power I
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 8:53 am 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Posts: 12037
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Perhaps your router #2 already does? Have you checked? Any router with a firmware based on Linux should be able to do it. Many firmwares are locked by the manufacturers, and so you might need 3rd party firmwares (eg, Tomato, Merlin, DDWrt). RouterTech firmwares support all this - but can only connect to another router/modem via an ethernet cable, or wirelessly via WDS.

_________________
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Island in Lake/Point to Point Wifi Bridge/Router Power I
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:52 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:16 pm
Posts: 3
Hi Chief:

My router is a simple home router, Amped RTA 15. The company says none of their routers can handle script, but I am not sure the guy on the phone knew what he was talking about. I'd be happy to replace the router if I knew what to buy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Island in Lake/Point to Point Wifi Bridge/Router Power I
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:23 pm 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Posts: 12037
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Well, there are literally hundreds of routers that can run crob jobs and connect wirelessly to another device. Much depends on whether you are willing and able to flash a 3rd party firmware if the manufacturer's firmware locks out those kinds of things. If so, then check out which routers are supported by Tomato or DDWRT.

I would not want to pick out one router from the hundreds that are available. Check the supported ones, then check their prices, hardware specs, etc. I personally use an Asus RT-N56U, running Padavan firmware. But that just happened to be the one I chose when my Broadband connection was upgraded.

_________________
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 6 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB & WordPress     Hosted by Kieran O'Shea     Site Code © 2005-2011 Kieran O'Shea     All site contents © 2005-2011 RouterTech - All rights reserved     Valid HTML     Valid CSS     Graphics by Neo