The independent technical support site for all things networking!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 7 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Linksys WRT54GS - how to load firmware without password
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:33 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:41 pm
Posts: 4
Hi,

I have a problem with router (linksys WRT54GS - I think it is v2) - I got it from my friend and have no information about it. It is alive (ping 192.168.1.1 is ok) and there is OpenWrt loaded in.
I can not admin this system (no name, pass) so I would like to load original Linksys firmware in it.(I have it in bin file)
When I tried to use RRT I got "bootloader not accesible" I tried to hw reset few times, I tried tftp, I tried wizard but no success. I spend more than 8 hour trying, searching on internet and now I am giving up.
After reset I am not able to force it to load original firmware and it always loads OpenWrt. (I simply can not hit the right time to upload firmware.)
Would anyone help me with this problem?

Thank a lot.
Mynonaj


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:32 pm 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:54 pm
Posts: 3700
Don't give up - if it is a V2 it has 8MB flash and 32MB ram...

The RRT will not work - the WRT54GS is Broadcom chipset, not Ti.

There is a Linksys tftp tool - have you tried that?

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Re ... _Bad_Flash

Note the pin-shorting method is NOT RECOMMENDED


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Loading orig firmware
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 12:30 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:41 pm
Posts: 4
I have LinksysWRT54GS v.1.0. There is OpenWrt loaded and working but I do not have admin/pass so I can not configure (router is a gift). I would like to load original firmware.
I have static address, half duplex 10Mb setup.

When I connect it to power PWR led flashing for 3s (DMZ=off) then PWR is dim and DMS=on, after app. 40s DMZ=off , WLAN and PWR dim. 3s before DMZ is going off PWR flashes for 3 seconds. (Port 1 led is on. During process all 4port leds blink once or twice)
Router is not pingable – first it returns Host not reachable then (after app. 1 minute) TimeOut

When I connect it to power while reset button pressed on and hold for 2-3s it behaves in the same way.

When I connect it to power while reset button pressed it behaves differently.
PWR led flashes for 3s DMZ=off ;
then PWR=ON, DMZ=ON;
after 4s all port led blink twice - 1 short and 1 long – (2sec. ) blinks; port 1 stays ON
at this moment I release reset button; DMZ is ON
after another 7sec DMZ goes OFF; PWR,WLAN =ON and port 1 led blinking (ping)
Ping is runing (1ms and TTL=64). WXP shows connected. OperWRT gives „No webpages currently available“ message. Ping starts app 2 s after DMZ goes OFF.

I tried many times at different time to tftp binary firmware but no success. TimeOut error meassage.
(tftp –i 192.168.1.1. PUT binaryfilename.bin)
And think that timing to start tftp is crucial but I do not know when the best time is. Or is there anythink else I overlooked? Any suggestion appriciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 6:37 pm 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:54 pm
Posts: 3700
I have a WRT54GS v1.1, but never needed tftp. There is an nvram variable (boot_wait) that defines how long the window to successfully tftp. Some versions of OpenWRT have a blank default password - use "root" as username.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Linksys original FW over OpenWrt
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:02 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:41 pm
Posts: 4
This router was used and setup for specific situation. It was administered and it is passworded. Problem is that friend who gave it to me does not have either admin name/password or any other info. He took it from some network and does not have any information about setup. All info I have is in my previous post.
I do not either know how boot_wait is setup.

Do you know how to find it or change it on such a system?

What is right time to start tftp?

Am I doing anything wrong?(see my prev post) I think I am but I tried so many different things that now I am "blind" and I am "shooting" in many directions without systematic way (I spend over 20 hours on this f***** thing)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:16 pm 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:54 pm
Posts: 3700
There is no easy way to check/change nvram parameters - its possible tftp has been disabled and/or the bootloader IP changed. The 'hard way' is to solder in a JTAG connector and use softwqre to read/clear the nvram. Checkout the forums at linksysinfo.org or dd-wrt.com for more specific help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 9:00 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:41 pm
Posts: 4
If I ping 192.168.1.1 I get respond. Is it loader address?
How to list parameters? I know it is stupid question but I am not expert in configuring routers.

(Soldering is beyond my skills)

Thx.
M.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 7 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB & WordPress     Hosted by Kieran O'Shea     Site Code © 2005-2011 Kieran O'Shea     All site contents © 2005-2011 RouterTech - All rights reserved     Valid HTML     Valid CSS     Graphics by Neo