2.8 and netgear and wireless dg834g

Support forum for routers of all shapes and sizes. As long as it's router based and doesn't fall into the other categories, this is the place to ask your questions.
pinotec
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:46 am

2.8 and netgear and wireless dg834g

Post by pinotec » Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:12 pm

hello world
I have just installed the 2.8 firmware on my netgear dg834v2 (thanks to jackthevendicator for help)
firmware know if 2.8 supports wireless client mode?


sorry for my poor English
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Thu Feb 26, 2009 7:07 pm

Now, that's something! Well, you're a pioneer! I would not have thought it possible to install RT on a Netgear DG834 of any kind (don't try it, folks!).

I don't know how you managed to achieve this - but congratulations anyway. Perhaps you might want to tell us how you did it?

As for the wireless, if the driver supports your wireless card, then it should be working now.

Please post the RT firmware system diagnostics.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
pinotec
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:46 am

Post by pinotec » Thu Feb 26, 2009 11:04 pm

ok
Attachments
sistem diagnostic dg834g.rar
(3.89 KiB) Downloaded 161 times
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:17 pm

There is nothing to indicate the presence of anything wireless. Is the wireless access point enabled?

PS: did you reset to defaults after upgrading?
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
pinotec
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:46 am

Post by pinotec » Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:49 pm

and the wireless turned off, if you can make the diagnostic system with wireless enabled, but my problem that I can not find the item to search for other wireless networks, such as access points works
I have to fix the LED
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:18 pm

Sorry, but I don't understand what you are trying to say. Did you enable the access point in the RT firmware? In any case, what wireless chipset does the Netgear use?
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
pinotec
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:46 am

Post by pinotec » Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:03 pm

i have disabled wireless on my router
now wireless is enabled

ps
I want to know if the RT firmware can be configured to work as a wi-fi client instead of an access point
Attachments
sistem diagnostic dg834g.rar
(4 KiB) Downloaded 88 times
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:18 pm

pinotec wrote:I want to know if the RT firmware can be configured to work as a wi-fi client instead of an access point
I would think not.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
pinotec
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:46 am

Post by pinotec » Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:14 pm

may i have a firmware RouterTech_3.6.0D_20081123_2.80_AR7WRD_Adam2_firmware.upgrade.img compressed with jffs2? thanks
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:21 am

Why would you want that?
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
pinotec
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:46 am

Post by pinotec » Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:25 pm

to include applications, which currently can enter into the var, but when you restart your router will be erased
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:35 pm

It's not that straightforward, and we are not going down that route anytime soon.

I'm afraid you'll have to do it yourself - and you'll also need to build JFFS2 support into the kernel, etc. etc. Good luck!
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
studioeng
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:59 pm
Location: Dorset, England
Contact:

Re: 2.8 and netgear and wireless dg834g

Post by studioeng » Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:25 am

pinotec wrote:hello world
I have just installed the 2.8 firmware on my netgear dg834v2 (thanks to jackthevendicator for help)
firmware know if 2.8 supports wireless client mode?


sorry for my poor English
Could you possibly give the link(s) to where you found the information on how to achieve this?
pinotec
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:46 am

Post by pinotec » Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:45 pm

First you should check what kind of router has a flash
then change the bootloader to the second flash installed, I put adam.022 version amd
After sending the firmware with the software pctool v2.1
if the netgear dg834g v1 can also use the jtag if something goes wrong
the firmware that I used and RouterTech_3.6.0D_20081123_2.80_AR7WRD_Adam2_firmware.upgrade.img
User avatar
studioeng
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:59 pm
Location: Dorset, England
Contact:

Post by studioeng » Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:17 am

The link where you got this information would be great. There is far more detail required that what you have explained.
Post Reply