The independent technical support site for all things networking!


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 16 of 20   [ 295 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:07 pm 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:29 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nottingham
Hi dakota

We are very sorry but we have had to temporally disable all downloads.
We are working on restoring these and hope to re-instate them shortly.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

_________________
I Wanna Live 'till I Die!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:41 pm 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:29 am
Posts: 767
Location: Nottingham
OK, downloads are now working again :D

We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused

_________________
I Wanna Live 'till I Die!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:41 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:10 am
Posts: 2
Hi, I'm getting a zero length zip file downloading RUC 1.3.4

Known problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:18 pm 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Posts: 3578
Thanks for the feedback - I forgot that all my downloads needed to be transferred to the new location. I've moved all the files now so there should be no more zero-length downloads ;)

_________________
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:03 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:10 am
Posts: 2
Sorted. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:40 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 2:59 pm
Posts: 8
Download the latest version but when I try to run the application, it says that ruc.exe is not a valid Win32 application. What can I do?

I'm running on Windows XP.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:49 pm 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Posts: 4768
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
kenny8138 wrote:
Download the latest version but when I try to run the application, it says that ruc.exe is not a valid Win32 application. What can I do?

I'm running on Windows XP.

Thanks.


I suppose the first thing that I'd try is to download it again and reinstall in case it's corrupted in some way...

Jim

_________________
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:15 pm 
Novice
Novice

Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:11 pm
Posts: 14
Great tool, but please don't touch the registry and make it truly portable. It creates HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Visual Basic even though it doesn't even actually put anything in it.
Update: I've confirmed you indeed fixed it in newer versions, thanks!

Speaking of portability, are there any changes RUC does to the modem? It seems it runs lots of commands there and I do give it root access so I'd like to know.

Thanks!


Last edited by lwc on Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:43 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:37 am 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Posts: 3578
For the record, the RUC doesn't intentionally create that key in the registry (nor anything else in the registry). It seemed to be a bug with an API call and I believe I have resolved it in v1.3.7. In any case, users need not be concerned about safety when using the RUC.

Due to the nature of the RUC (it helps identify routers), it primarily reads or extracts data from a router rather than make any changes to a router. The only changes it might make are: 1) upload the CLI module if it is missing (required for some commands) and 2) start and/or stop the HTTP process. No changes to the router by the RUC are permanent - they would be lost when the router is reset or switched off.

_________________
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:25 pm 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:18 am
Posts: 1
Hello!

I have problem with the latest version of Router Upgrade Checker and my Dlink G604T. I'm writing username and password, choosing number of ethernet ports and model of router and after clicking Check My Router it's going to 10% and then it shows:

Quote:
Could not log in to router - please check that the username and password are correct.


They are correct (router is reseted to defaults so it's just username: admin and password: admin)

I've read the readme file, tried to run it in Windows XP SP3 compability mode (I've Windows 7 x64), run as administrator and tried to apply that vista-telnet-fix.bat (as administrator and then restarted my computer). I don't have internet connected to it if it changes anything.

Please help!

EDIT:

That problem is solved (root instead of admin - my bad) but I've another one. Checking hangs up on 18%. Here's log:

Quote:
--- Check Started ---
--- Login prompt:login ---
--- Shell test ---
Script = 3
00:00:000 Running script
00:00:001 Opening connection
00:00:261 ˙ý˙ý!˙ű˙ű
login:
00:00:461 Password:
00:00:461 Delay for 3 second(s)
00:03:462 BusyBox v0.61.pre (2005.08.25-07:00+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

#
00:03:664 shell: No such file or directory
#
#
00:03:874 cm_cli_tty: No such file or directory
#
#
00:04:105 End of script
00:04:105 PID Uid VmSize Stat Command
1 root 1284 S init
2 root S [keventd]
3 root R [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
4 root S [kswapd]
5 root S [bdflush]
6 root S [kupdated]
7 root S [mtdblockd]
26 root D [adsl]
32 root 1652 S /usr/bin/cm_pc
34 root 1168 S /usr/sbin/thttpd -g -d /usr/www -u root -p 80 -c /cg
35 root 1312 S /usr/sbin/diap
37 root 1284 S init
39 root 2884 S /usr/bin/cm_logic -m /dev/ticfg -c /etc/config.xml
41 root 1276 S /usr/bin/cm_monitor
270 root 632 S /sbin/dproxy -c /etc/resolv.conf -d
289 root 1288 S /bin/sh -c /usr/sbin/user_drv
290 root 4240 S /usr/sbin/user_drv
299 root 4240 S /usr/sbin/user_drv
300 root 4240 S /usr/sbin/user_drv
301 root 4240 S /usr/sbin/user_drv
303 root 4240 S /usr/sbin/user_drv
315 root 684 S /usr/sbin/udhcpd /var/tmp/udhcpd.conf
326 root 2344 S /usr/sbin/pppd plugin pppoe nas0 user username passw
339 root 616 S /sbin/utelnetd
340 root 1288 S -sh
343 root 1284 R ps
#
#
00:04:106 Closed connection.
--- Getting env ---
Script = 1
00:00:000 Running script
00:00:001 Opening connection
04:47:245 ogin:
04:47:245 Closed connection.
Aborted by user.


As you can see I waited for nearly 5 minutes on this 18% What can I do?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:29 pm 
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 8:51 pm
Posts: 95
Hi adwil.

This is a pretty classic glitch with the original firmware on the G604T. It replies with "ogin:" instead of "login:" under certain circumstances. Something in the system drops a character. You can see this happening at the end of the script/log that you posted. One of the last lines from the router is "ogin:".

The fix IIRC is to edit the settings.ini file for the RUC and alter the "Login prompt" setting to be "ogin". That way the RUC won't look for the missing "l".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:48 am 
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:33 am
Posts: 1
It'very nice tool. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:32 pm 
Novice
Novice

Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 9:20 pm
Posts: 19
Possible RUC problem

Got a DLink G604T as a backup router. Tried to put on RT2.92, but had problems. Ran the RUC, this told me to use :
Select an AR7WRD PSPBOOT 4 PORT firmware.
Latest: routertech-ar7wrd-pspboot-firmware-20100105.zip

Tried using this FW from the DLink menu, but didn't take. Realised mtds set for multiple image rather than single, so used router repair tool to change the mtds. Loaded the image okay, but never booted into the FW. Tried umpteen times, same result.

Did some research and found that in the RUC log that:
/proc/ticfg/env/ bootloaderVersion 0.22.02
indicates an Adam2 bootloader. Using that firmware, the router worked okay on RT2.92

The RUC misdirected me. Any ideas why, probably something I screwed, but I thought it might worth you guys having a look? log attached. NB. also suffered the (l)ogin problem.

Attachment:
check-20100225_194558_Dlink G604T.txt [11.76 KiB]
Downloaded 179 times


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:15 pm 
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:54 pm
Posts: 3753
something very wrong - every indication in the log - version, prompt, mtd3, adam2 environment should all indicate adam2.

Another anomaly - the wireless chip is indentified, but the message says it isn't then it recommends a non-ROHS wireless.

You haven't managed to merge 2 ruc log files?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:36 pm 
Novice
Novice

Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 9:20 pm
Posts: 19
The log file is straight out of the tin. A later log file at RT2.92 correctly identifies Adam2.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 16 of 20   [ 295 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB & WordPress     Hosted by Kieran O'Shea     Site Code © 2005-2011 Kieran O'Shea     All site contents © 2005-2011 RouterTech - All rights reserved     Valid HTML     Valid CSS     Graphics by Neo