Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Utilities and tools for networking, routers, setup etc
Post Reply
User avatar
Alan
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:29 am
Location: Nottingham

Post by Alan » Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:07 pm

Hi dakota

We are very sorry but we have had to temporally disable all downloads.
We are working on restoring these and hope to re-instate them shortly.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.
I Wanna Live 'till I Die!
User avatar
Alan
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:29 am
Location: Nottingham

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by Alan » Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:41 pm

OK, downloads are now working again :D

We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused
I Wanna Live 'till I Die!
m127
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:10 am

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by m127 » Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:41 pm

Hi, I'm getting a zero length zip file downloading RUC 1.3.4

Known problem?
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by Neo » Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:18 pm

Thanks for the feedback - I forgot that all my downloads needed to be transferred to the new location. I've moved all the files now so there should be no more zero-length downloads ;)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
m127
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:10 am

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by m127 » Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:03 pm

Sorted. Thanks!
kenny8138
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 2:59 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by kenny8138 » Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:40 pm

Download the latest version but when I try to run the application, it says that ruc.exe is not a valid Win32 application. What can I do?

I'm running on Windows XP.

Thanks.
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4769
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by Shotokan101 » Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:49 pm

kenny8138 wrote:Download the latest version but when I try to run the application, it says that ruc.exe is not a valid Win32 application. What can I do?

I'm running on Windows XP.

Thanks.
I suppose the first thing that I'd try is to download it again and reinstall in case it's corrupted in some way...

Jim
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
lwc
Novice
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:11 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by lwc » Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:15 pm

Great tool, but please don't touch the registry and make it truly portable. It creates HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Visual Basic even though it doesn't even actually put anything in it.
Update: I've confirmed you indeed fixed it in newer versions, thanks!

Speaking of portability, are there any changes RUC does to the modem? It seems it runs lots of commands there and I do give it root access so I'd like to know.

Thanks!
Last edited by lwc on Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:43 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by Neo » Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:37 am

For the record, the RUC doesn't intentionally create that key in the registry (nor anything else in the registry). It seemed to be a bug with an API call and I believe I have resolved it in v1.3.7. In any case, users need not be concerned about safety when using the RUC.

Due to the nature of the RUC (it helps identify routers), it primarily reads or extracts data from a router rather than make any changes to a router. The only changes it might make are: 1) upload the CLI module if it is missing (required for some commands) and 2) start and/or stop the HTTP process. No changes to the router by the RUC are permanent - they would be lost when the router is reset or switched off.
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
adwil
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:18 am

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by adwil » Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:25 pm

Hello!

I have problem with the latest version of Router Upgrade Checker and my Dlink G604T. I'm writing username and password, choosing number of ethernet ports and model of router and after clicking Check My Router it's going to 10% and then it shows:
Could not log in to router - please check that the username and password are correct.
They are correct (router is reseted to defaults so it's just username: admin and password: admin)

I've read the readme file, tried to run it in Windows XP SP3 compability mode (I've Windows 7 x64), run as administrator and tried to apply that vista-telnet-fix.bat (as administrator and then restarted my computer). I don't have internet connected to it if it changes anything.

Please help!

EDIT:

That problem is solved (root instead of admin - my bad) but I've another one. Checking hangs up on 18%. Here's log:
--- Check Started ---
--- Login prompt:login ---
--- Shell test ---
Script = 3
00:00:000 Running script
00:00:001 Opening connection
00:00:261 ˙ý˙ý!˙ű˙ű
login:
00:00:461 Password:
00:00:461 Delay for 3 second(s)
00:03:462 BusyBox v0.61.pre (2005.08.25-07:00+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

#
00:03:664 shell: No such file or directory
#
#
00:03:874 cm_cli_tty: No such file or directory
#
#
00:04:105 End of script
00:04:105 PID Uid VmSize Stat Command
1 root 1284 S init
2 root S [keventd]
3 root R [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
4 root S [kswapd]
5 root S [bdflush]
6 root S [kupdated]
7 root S [mtdblockd]
26 root D [adsl]
32 root 1652 S /usr/bin/cm_pc
34 root 1168 S /usr/sbin/thttpd -g -d /usr/www -u root -p 80 -c /cg
35 root 1312 S /usr/sbin/diap
37 root 1284 S init
39 root 2884 S /usr/bin/cm_logic -m /dev/ticfg -c /etc/config.xml
41 root 1276 S /usr/bin/cm_monitor
270 root 632 S /sbin/dproxy -c /etc/resolv.conf -d
289 root 1288 S /bin/sh -c /usr/sbin/user_drv
290 root 4240 S /usr/sbin/user_drv
299 root 4240 S /usr/sbin/user_drv
300 root 4240 S /usr/sbin/user_drv
301 root 4240 S /usr/sbin/user_drv
303 root 4240 S /usr/sbin/user_drv
315 root 684 S /usr/sbin/udhcpd /var/tmp/udhcpd.conf
326 root 2344 S /usr/sbin/pppd plugin pppoe nas0 user username passw
339 root 616 S /sbin/utelnetd
340 root 1288 S -sh
343 root 1284 R ps
#
#
00:04:106 Closed connection.
--- Getting env ---
Script = 1
00:00:000 Running script
00:00:001 Opening connection
04:47:245 ogin:
04:47:245 Closed connection.
Aborted by user.
As you can see I waited for nearly 5 minutes on this 18% What can I do?
KevinR
Regular
Regular
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 8:51 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by KevinR » Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:29 pm

Hi adwil.

This is a pretty classic glitch with the original firmware on the G604T. It replies with "ogin:" instead of "login:" under certain circumstances. Something in the system drops a character. You can see this happening at the end of the script/log that you posted. One of the last lines from the router is "ogin:".

The fix IIRC is to edit the settings.ini file for the RUC and alter the "Login prompt" setting to be "ogin". That way the RUC won't look for the missing "l".
kadrist
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:33 am
Contact:

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by kadrist » Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:48 am

It'very nice tool. Thanks
yipper
Novice
Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 9:20 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by yipper » Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:32 pm

Possible RUC problem

Got a DLink G604T as a backup router. Tried to put on RT2.92, but had problems. Ran the RUC, this told me to use :
Select an AR7WRD PSPBOOT 4 PORT firmware.
Latest: routertech-ar7wrd-pspboot-firmware-20100105.zip

Tried using this FW from the DLink menu, but didn't take. Realised mtds set for multiple image rather than single, so used router repair tool to change the mtds. Loaded the image okay, but never booted into the FW. Tried umpteen times, same result.

Did some research and found that in the RUC log that:
/proc/ticfg/env/ bootloaderVersion 0.22.02
indicates an Adam2 bootloader. Using that firmware, the router worked okay on RT2.92

The RUC misdirected me. Any ideas why, probably something I screwed, but I thought it might worth you guys having a look? log attached. NB. also suffered the (l)ogin problem.
check-20100225_194558_Dlink G604T.txt
(11.76 KiB) Downloaded 224 times
mstombs
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3753
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:54 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by mstombs » Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:15 pm

something very wrong - every indication in the log - version, prompt, mtd3, adam2 environment should all indicate adam2.

Another anomaly - the wireless chip is indentified, but the message says it isn't then it recommends a non-ROHS wireless.

You haven't managed to merge 2 ruc log files?
yipper
Novice
Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 9:20 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by yipper » Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:36 pm

The log file is straight out of the tin. A later log file at RT2.92 correctly identifies Adam2.
Post Reply