Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Utilities and tools for networking, routers, setup etc
Post Reply
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Thu Jan 31, 2008 3:08 pm

ecstech wrote:It's a bit ambiguous to my mind. :oops:
I don't see how it's ambiguous :? - You have two warnings and then the suggested firmware to use. Whether you want to ignore the warnings and install the firmware is up to you. theChief has explained the risks above.

The fact is, there is no way of knowing what type of switch your router has without actually opening up the router...
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
PJ36
Novice
Novice
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:34 pm

Post by PJ36 » Mon Feb 18, 2008 7:54 pm

Just downloaded the RUC and ran it all is fine till at 76% and it stuck, no errors no nothing. Been at 76% for like 8 mins and increasing now, surely should reached 100% by now within 5 mins top at the most?

Any ideas? My router is SART2-4115. My window system is XP SP2.

Thanks, PJ

Clicked abort and the following is shown in the SHow Report button.

00:00:003 Running script
00:00:006 Opening connection
00:00:784 ÿýÿý!ÿûÿû
BusyBox on (none) login:
00:00:983 Password:
00:00:987 Delay for 3 second(s)
00:03:989 BusyBox v0.61.pre (2006.11.03-04:43+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

#
00:04:300 shell: No such file or directory
#
00:04:500 End of script
00:04:500 cm_cli_tty: No such file or directory
#
00:04:501 Closed connection.
00:00:000 Running script
00:00:001 Opening connection
00:00:401 ÿýÿý!ÿûÿû
BusyBox on (none) login:
00:00:604 Password:
00:01:709 BusyBox v0.61.pre (2006.11.03-04:43+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

#
00:02:614 bootloaderVersion 1.2.1.5
ProductID AR7RD
HWRevision Unknown
SerialNumber none
MODETTY0 38400,n,8,1,hw
MODETTY1 38400,n,8,1,hw
BOOTCFG m:f:"mtd1"
mtd2 0x90000000,0x90010000
mtd3 0x90010000,0x90020000
StaticBuffer 120
MAC_PORT 1
MEMSZ 0x00800000
FLASHSZ 0x00200000
CPUFREQ 150000000
SYSFREQ 125000000
PROMPT (psbl)
vcc_encaps0 0.0
vcc_encaps1 0.0
vcc_encaps2 0.0
vcc_encaps3 0.0
vcc_encaps4 0.0
vcc_encaps5 0.0
vcc_encaps6 0.0
vcc_encaps7 0.0
usb_vid 0x0451
usb_pid 0x6060
HWA_RNDIS 00:E0:A6:66:41:EB
IPA 192.168.100.1
mtd4 0x90020000,0x90200000
HWA_0 00:30:54:76:53:6d
HWA_3 00:30:54:76:53:6e
HWA_HRNDIS 00:30:54:76:53:6f
autopvc_enable 1
DSL_BIT_TMODE 1
DSL_UPG_DONE 1
mtd1 0x90020090,0x9009b000
mtd0 0x9009b000,0x90200000
modulation 0xbf
#
00:02:815 End of script
00:02:815 cat: /proc/sys/dev/adam2/environment: No such file or directory
#
00:02:815 Closed connection.
00:00:000 Running script
00:00:006 Opening connection
00:00:525 ÿýÿý!ÿûÿû
BusyBox on (none) login:
00:00:721 Password:
00:01:123 BusyBox v0.61.pre (2006.11.03-04:43+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

#
00:01:124 Delay for 1 second(s)
00:02:126 #
00:02:330 Delay for 5 second(s)
00:07:331 /var
#
00:07:863 Delay for 1 second(s)
00:08:864
cm_cli_tty 0% | | 0 --:-- ETA
cm_cli_tty 100% |*****************************| 12539 00:00 ETA
#
00:09:075 Delay for 5 second(s)
00:14:076 #
00:14:078 Delay for 5 second(s)
00:19:078 End of script
00:19:078 Closed connection.
00:00:000 Running script
00:00:001 Opening connection
14:34:940 gin:
14:34:941 Closed connection.
Aborted by user.
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:19 pm

Have you looked at the ReadMe file?

I would try changing the "Login prompt" in the settings.ini file to "gin".
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
PJ36
Novice
Novice
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:34 pm

Post by PJ36 » Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:16 am

Neo wrote:Have you looked at the ReadMe file?

I would try changing the "Login prompt" in the settings.ini file to "gin".
That has worked thanks, although the mention of changing login prompt is no where to be read in your readme.txt I has!

IT has reported I have a possible upgrade so shall now read about it etc.
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Tue Feb 19, 2008 4:26 pm

Glad it's working for you :) The readme file covers the most common problems so I am now insisting that everyone reads it before posting any questions about it.

Some routers/firmwares seem to drop some of the leading letters in their response ( viewtopic.php?t=1563 ) so it becomes necessary to tweak the RUC to work with them.
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
User avatar
SyBorg
Ex RouterTech Team
Ex RouterTech Team
Posts: 1621
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:09 pm
Location: Berkshire
Contact:

Post by SyBorg » Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:50 pm

Neo,

I've tried running the RUC 1.2.1 against my new SAR-600EW and like ecstech earlier in the thread it gets to 100% and then gives a runtime error 9 subscript out of range. I get the env file generated but nothing else.
Debug almost helps - there is a pause between reaching 100 and the error (a loop I guess) and if I abort then I can just about display the report before the error pops up. As soon as the error does occur I can't scroll the report screen at all to see what it was up to. Any chance to write the report to a file the instant it reaches 100%?

EDIT: It's the 'Backup current config' option. With that unchecked it completes correctly and tells me

Code: Select all

Router Upgrade Check 1.2.1 08/03/2008 22:05:17
Router IP: 192.168.1.1
CLI is needed
Description: Solwise SAR-600EW ADSL2/2+
Board type: AR7WRD
Product ID: AR7WRD
Bootloader: (psbl)
RAM 16.0 MB
Flash (ROM) 4.0 MB
ADAM2: No
No default env: No
Linux version: 2.4.17_mvl21-malta-mips_fp_le
Firmware build: 061215
Firmware version: 3.7.0
Firmware stamp: 20061215092421
CPU: MIPS 4KEc V4.8
DSP: 6.02.01.00
Annex: A
/proc/wlan: Yes
/usr/sbin/wlan: Yes
TIAP: Yes
TNETW: Yes
Wireless: Yes
WIFI chip: TNETW1350A
WIFI chip conf: Yes
Marvell: Yes
NSP: 3.7.0
Manufacturers: Aztech Systems Ltd, Abocom
RNDIS: Aztech Systems Ltd
HRNDIS: Aztech Systems Ltd
An experimental firmware exists for your router. Install with caution.

An experimental firmware exists for your router -
if you are feeling brave you may wish to try it, but please read all the documentation first.
Select an AR7WRD PSPBOOT TNETW1350A 4 PORT firmware.
Latest: routertech-ROHS-ar7wrd-pspboot-firmware-20071020.zip
Please read the instructions that come with the firmware files before you upgrade.
We learn something every day, and lots of times it’s that what we learned the day before was wrong.
—Bill Vaughan
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:16 am

SyBorg wrote:EDIT: It's the 'Backup current config' option. With that unchecked it completes correctly and tells me
Thanks for the feedback SyBorg, but if you see the readme, it's number 7 in the troubleshooting list ;)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
User avatar
SyBorg
Ex RouterTech Team
Ex RouterTech Team
Posts: 1621
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:09 pm
Location: Berkshire
Contact:

Post by SyBorg » Sun Mar 09, 2008 8:18 am

Neo wrote:
SyBorg wrote:EDIT: It's the 'Backup current config' option. With that unchecked it completes correctly and tells me
Thanks for the feedback SyBorg, but if you see the readme, it's number 7 in the troubleshooting list ;)
:oops: I remember reading number 6 and number 8. Sorry Neo. :oops:

Any chance of catching the error thrown and exiting gracefully?
We learn something every day, and lots of times it’s that what we learned the day before was wrong.
—Bill Vaughan
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:03 pm

I forgive you sy ;)
SyBorg wrote:Any chance of catching the error thrown and exiting gracefully?
The error depends on the fw - specifically the login page. While the login page will look more or less the same for all routers (with username and password boxes), the actual code behind them can vary enormously. Could you let me know which fw you have installed and PM the HTML for the login page please? :)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Sun Mar 09, 2008 2:30 pm

I believe he still has the original Solwise/Aztech firmware.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Sun Mar 09, 2008 2:52 pm

I need the precise fw version ;)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:16 pm

061215 or 20061215092421 ? (or are you referring to the manufacturer's numbering - e.g. 99.68.1-004 ?).
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
SyBorg
Ex RouterTech Team
Ex RouterTech Team
Posts: 1621
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:09 pm
Location: Berkshire
Contact:

Post by SyBorg » Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:22 pm

The web interface tells me the firmware is

Code: Select all

Firmware Version  99.68.1  
. How does this relate then to the line in the output above ie

Code: Select all

Firmware build: 061215 
Firmware version: 3.7.0 
Firmware stamp: 20061215092421
? Are these totally differnt things then?

I'll pm you the source for the login screen now. One thing that surprises me on this is that during the setup of the router it prompted me to change the password, which I've done. This password applies when using telnet (with userID 'root') but for the web interface the default password 'admin' is still correct :? I'm fairly sure (but have certainly been proved wrong before) that the password was commone between the web interace and telne tand the ID changed on my last router. Is there some process to sync the passwords that doesn't exist by default on the Solwise?
We learn something every day, and lots of times it’s that what we learned the day before was wrong.
—Bill Vaughan
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:07 pm

The "99.68..." sutff is the manufacturer's version numbering. The "0612..." is the date and timestamp of when the firmware was built (i.e., 15th December 2006). The "3.7.0" stuff is the NSP (i.e., core logic) version.

The password should normally be the same for the webui and telnet sesions.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
SyBorg
Ex RouterTech Team
Ex RouterTech Team
Posts: 1621
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:09 pm
Location: Berkshire
Contact:

Post by SyBorg » Sun Mar 09, 2008 5:25 pm

thechief wrote:The "99.68..." sutff is the manufacturer's version numbering. The "0612..." is the date and timestamp of when the firmware was built (i.e., 15th December 2006). The "3.7.0" stuff is the NSP (i.e., core logic) version.
Thanks.
Neo, are you happy with the labelling in the RUC then?
thechief wrote: The password should normally be the same for the webui and telnet sesions.
That's what I thought :? I've changed it again and confirmed it. Telnet: userid=root & password=what ever password I've changed it to, webui: userid=admin & password=admin.
Could this be the issue with the RUC failing trying to login to the webui then?
We learn something every day, and lots of times it’s that what we learned the day before was wrong.
—Bill Vaughan
Post Reply