Help with setting up half-bridge mode on EE Osprey

Utilities and tools for networking, routers, setup etc
Post Reply
malhal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 12:10 pm

Help with setting up half-bridge mode on EE Osprey

Post by malhal » Sat May 14, 2016 12:35 pm

Hi mstombs, I was wondering if you could help me with running my EE Osprey MiFi device in half-bridge mode. I tried following your instructions for the RouterTech modem and adapting them but to no avail. The first thing I'm wondering if it would even work over the WiFi interface. Here is all relevant output:

Code: Select all

Malcs-MacBook-Pro:~ mh$ ssh root@192.168.1.1
root@192.168.1.1's password:oelinux123
root@mdm9625:~# ifconfig
bridge0   Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr B0:E0:3C:AF:23:12  
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::4815:d1ff:fe50:e671/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:4374 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2889 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:451282 (440.7 KiB)  TX bytes:242495 (236.8 KiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:119 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:119 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:65688 (64.1 KiB)  TX bytes:65688 (64.1 KiB)

rmnet0    Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
          inet addr:10.150.71.63  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::f66b:63f4:874f:ad77/64 Scope:Link
          UP RUNNING  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:22 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:1312 (1.2 KiB)  TX bytes:1492 (1.4 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr B0:E0:3C:AF:23:12  
          inet addr:169.254.1.1  Bcast:169.254.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::b2e0:3cff:feaf:2312/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:5801 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:8124 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:613534 (599.1 KiB)  TX bytes:654117 (638.7 KiB)

root@mdm9625:~# iptables --list-rules
-P INPUT ACCEPT
-P FORWARD ACCEPT
-P OUTPUT ACCEPT
-A FORWARD -i bridge0 -p tcp -m state --state INVALID -j DROP
root@mdm9625:~# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
default         10.150.71.64    0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 rmnet0
10.150.71.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 rmnet0
192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 bridge0
root@mdm9625:~# cat /proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf/rmnet0/proxy_arp
1
root@mdm9625:~# cat /proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf/bridge0/proxy_arp
1
I'm going to try a again and will post the commands and the results.
mstombs
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3753
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:54 pm

Re: Help with setting up half-bridge mode on EE Osprey

Post by mstombs » Sat May 14, 2016 10:49 pm

Wow, blast from the past, I am still here but haven't touched it for years. It used to work for on an adsl router with pppoa connection which appeared in Linux as ppp0. I know nothing about the mifi - I guess its just a mobile internet router?
malhal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 12:10 pm

Re: Help with setting up half-bridge mode on EE Osprey

Post by malhal » Sat May 14, 2016 10:55 pm

So I actually managed to get it working, I was missing the command to disable NAT. Here is what I used to make it work:

Code: Select all

iptables -t nat -F
ifconfig rmnet0 0.0.0.0
route add -net 10.150.71.63 netmask 255.255.255.255 dev bridge0
route add default rmnet0
Which ended up with this:

Code: Select all

root@mdm9625:~# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
default         *               0.0.0.0         U     0      0        0 rmnet0
10.150.71.63    *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 bridge0
192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 bridge0
From here I was able to set the my router to the static IP 10.150.71.63 and gateway 10.150.71.64 and it worked!

My test setup is the EE Osprey WiFi Hotspot -> Airport Express Client Mode -> Ethernet to WAN port of Airport Extreme:

Image

Next step is to try to make the Osprey send the 4G IP to the Airport Extreme via DHCP.
mstombs
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3753
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:54 pm

Re: Help with setting up half-bridge mode on EE Osprey

Post by mstombs » Sun May 15, 2016 10:58 pm

Well done!
Are you obscuring real IP addresses? Because 10.x.x.x are still non internet routable local IP addresses, so you will still be in double nat situation - or is that just better than triple nat?
malhal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 12:10 pm

Re: Help with setting up half-bridge mode on EE Osprey

Post by malhal » Sun May 15, 2016 11:03 pm

mstombs wrote:Well done!
Are you obscuring real IP addresses? Because 10.x.x.x are still non internet routable local IP addresses, so you will still be in double nat situation - or is that just better than triple nat?
Thanks!, and exactly...better than triple NAT because unfortunately mobile Internet in the UK appears to be always NAT. Another reason is I wanted the Airport Extreme to do the routing rather than the MiFi. The device is supposed to be limited to 10 clients although I'm not sure where exactly that limitation lies, e.g. if it's WLAN clients or the DHCP range.
Post Reply