Network Outage

All errors or issues on the website/forums should be reported here and will be investigated. Support questions about how to use/access features not documented in the forum FAQ and discussion about the site forums are also welcome here, but please read this thread before posting such items.
Locked
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2665
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Network Outage

Post by Kieran » Thu May 11, 2006 8:03 pm

There was a network outage this evening causing lack of connectivity with the server on which RouterTech resides. The cause of this is being investiagted, but is currently not known. Please hold onto your hats in case there are further outages and be patient :)
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4774
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Fri May 12, 2006 11:59 am

Hi Kieran - hat was well and truly held on to - is RT hosted on Lara then ?

Asking as Lara seemed to disappear over the same period last night ?
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Fri May 12, 2006 12:23 pm

Unless things have recently changed, RT and several other websites that Kieran hosts are not on Lara. They are all on the same 'home package' server which is provided by a specialist company ;)

Lara is Kieran's own server for FTP etc ;)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4774
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Fri May 12, 2006 12:25 pm

That's what I thought as well.... but as Lara disappeared ...... :?
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2665
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kieran » Fri May 12, 2006 1:55 pm

Issues with the server have now been resolved (as of yesterday evening in fact). There was a customers script, insecurely coded, that was being used by hackers to DOS other sites, using up all available bandwidth and causing the server to become inaccessable. This has now been fixed and everything is running normally.

Shoto (and all who are interested), no RT is not hosted on Lara. Lara is a private box that doesn't host any complete websites. Among other things lara is used as a point of access through which other servers can be reached from the www, and also acts as a repository for large files/bandwidth intensive applications (for example the sourcecode for the latest RT firmware) for which the cost for doing such things from a datacentre would be too high and the uptime/connectivity of a datacentre is not required. Lara is also used as a test-bed for potentially insecure scripts and programs I am in the process of developing so that any breach of security by way of these scripts will not affect paying customers and sites such as RT which are hosted on a box in a datacentre. Hope this helps the curious :)
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4774
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Fri May 12, 2006 2:10 pm

Thanks Kieran - usefull info. - so Lara was unavailable during the same time as RT coincidentally ? or was it just me having problems although I had "normal" web access elsewhere ?

EDIT: Glad you mentioned Lara hosting the download as it makes my discussion not OT 8)
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2665
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kieran » Fri May 12, 2006 2:57 pm

Lara has her ups and downs. She's a tempremental lady ;) (aka sheer coincidence)
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4774
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Fri May 12, 2006 3:13 pm

Kieran wrote:Lara has her ups and downs. She's a tempremental lady ;) (aka sheer coincidence)
LOL :wink:
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2665
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kieran » Fri May 12, 2006 3:58 pm

Thread closed as the issue has been resolved.
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
Locked