Smillie insertion - or not ?

All errors or issues on the website/forums should be reported here and will be investigated. Support questions about how to use/access features not documented in the forum FAQ and discussion about the site forums are also welcome here, but please read this thread before posting such items.
Locked
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Smillie insertion - or not ?

Post by Shotokan101 » Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:36 am

I might have asked this in the past :oops: but is supposed to be only possible to "insert" smillies using the icons - at the end of a post ? :?
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2671
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kieran » Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:02 am

Its been asked and yes, it is only possible to add at the end of a post. This is a limitation of the core javascript on the posting pages which is core phpbb code.
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:04 am

Darn - thanks Kieran :D
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3583
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:00 am

...which is one of the main reasons for: viewtopic.php?t=235 ;)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
User avatar
gazzer
Regular
Regular
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:06 am
Contact:

Post by gazzer » Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:32 am

its easier to just click the one you want as and when you need it, or just hover your mouse over the picture and the status bar at the bottom says javascript:emoticon('THINGTOTYPE') , where the characters between the single quotes is the words to type. or at least thats what i do.
Image
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2671
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kieran » Thu Jul 27, 2006 10:32 am

Quite right ;)

I'm closing this now as its not a forum issue.
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
Locked