Suggestions box

All errors or issues on the website/forums should be reported here and will be investigated. Support questions about how to use/access features not documented in the forum FAQ and discussion about the site forums are also welcome here, but please read this thread before posting such items.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2671
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kieran » Wed May 10, 2006 12:01 am

Why can't people just be thankful that the buttons/options are there at all.... :shrug:
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Wed May 10, 2006 12:11 am

Kieran wrote:Why can't people just be thankful that the buttons/options are there at all.... :shrug:
Because it's the nature of the Beast :wink:

...ask for suggestions on how to improve things and be thankfull that people respond :? .....for every 5 minor/annoying suggestions like mine - who knows you might get a Gem next time - just call it "Optioneering" :P
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2671
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kieran » Wed May 10, 2006 12:29 am

LOL I guess its because I have seen so many sites/forums/systems that simply don't have the features at all I have learnt to put features first and eye candy/convenience second. Hell, I do everything at the command prompt here.... that must mean something ;)

Short answer though, yes, I do appreciate suggestions and I am grateful that people are providing us with them :)
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Wed May 10, 2006 12:35 am

Kieran wrote:...... Hell, I do everything at the command prompt here.... that must mean something ;)
........ :zip:
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3583
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Wed May 10, 2006 1:00 am

An alternative to searching for a user would be to go to the memberlist and click on the PM button for the person you want to PM ;)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Wed May 10, 2006 1:07 am

Neo wrote:An alternative to searching for a user would be to go to the memberlist and click on the PM button for the person you want to PM ;)
Yeah Right :roll:

....alternatively I could write them all down and just look at my list when I needed a username :argh:
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2671
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kieran » Wed May 10, 2006 1:10 am

To be fair, for those users you PM regularly you must know their username. For moderation tasks there is a PM button for the user on each post, and on all reported posts in the reported posts panel. Then there is the memberlist with various sort options, and then on top of all that there is the username search.
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Wed May 10, 2006 1:16 am

Yes - everything you say is quite undeniably correct Kieran :wink:

....BUT not everyone is as innovative as you and I :rofl:

.....you don't think that I'm making these suggestions for my OWN benefit do you :? .....as usual it's the casual forum user that I've got in mind andd I'm always looking for ways to improve their browsing experience here at Routertech :shrug:

....... :pukes:
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Thu May 11, 2006 10:35 am

Would it be possible to add another option to the Active Topics page - to add an option "All Topics" to the drop down selection list ?
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2671
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kieran » Thu May 11, 2006 10:39 am

Shotokan101 wrote:Would it be possible to add another option to the Active Topics page - to add an option "All Topics" to the drop down selection list ?
You mean to show all topics ever created?
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Thu May 11, 2006 12:05 pm

Yes - that's what I was looking for - just found that I'd missed a few topics when I used the "Last Month" option and thought that an option to list all topics here might be usefull.....
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3583
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Thu May 11, 2006 12:05 pm

Of course it's possible, but isn't the last month enough? :shock:

If a topic from a year ago suddenly becomes active again it will show up in the 'Active Topics', so I can't really see the need to show topics that haven't been active for months.

If you want to find an old topic, then the forum search is much more applicable in this instance.
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3583
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Thu May 11, 2006 12:06 pm

The whole point of the 'active topics' page is that you're unlikely to miss something if you visit that page often ;)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
User avatar
SyBorg
Ex RouterTech Team
Ex RouterTech Team
Posts: 1621
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:09 pm
Location: Berkshire
Contact:

Post by SyBorg » Thu May 11, 2006 12:09 pm

Of course we could always have an 'inactive topics' page :D
We learn something every day, and lots of times it’s that what we learned the day before was wrong.
—Bill Vaughan
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2671
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Kieran » Thu May 11, 2006 12:11 pm

I'm afraid that simply due to the number of results such an SQL query could return after we have been online for a while would just be too high, and it may simply hang; especially seeing as it isn't just one query that returns that page - its several.
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
Post Reply