idea : making "Lan Clients" indipendent from connection

An area specifically for port forwarding, firewalls and other (on-line) security related issues.
Post Reply
tiepolo
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 10:10 pm
Location: milan, Italy

idea : making "Lan Clients" indipendent from connection

Post by tiepolo » Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:51 pm

Hello,

I notice that in routertech firmware setting Lan Clients and other services depends upon the WAN connection -

This means that if I change my WAN connection (change provider, username, or from pppoE to pppoA, etc) all my settings are lost - DDNS, Lan Clients, Port Forwarding, etc.

Would it be possible (and suitable?) to change this caracteristich of the routertech so that Lan Clients, Port Forwarding, DDNS etc are indipendent from the actual WAN connection?

this happens in many firmware and I frankly believe it is more sensed.

Paolo
Paolo
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: idea : making "Lan Clients" indipendent from connection

Post by thechief » Sun Dec 20, 2009 10:53 pm

tiepolo wrote:Would it be possible (and suitable?) to change this caracteristich of the routertech so that Lan Clients, Port Forwarding, DDNS etc are indipendent from the actual WAN connection?
No. They are stored in the config section of mtd3, and disappear when you restore to defaults.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
tiepolo
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 10:10 pm
Location: milan, Italy

Re: idea : making "Lan Clients" indipendent from connection

Post by tiepolo » Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:50 pm

You're right, this was my mistake in exchanging settings.

Thanks
Paolo
Post Reply