RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

All about firmwares for routers. Support for RouterTech firmwares is here too.
Locked
User avatar
acrux
Novice
Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:50 pm
Location: Naples, IT

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by acrux » Sun Jan 09, 2011 12:33 am

Roper FLYNET ADSL2/2+ Wireless Router (ROADSL2P-WG) upgraded to 2.95 release (routertech-ar7wrd-pspboot-firmware-4ports-20110103.zip) with no problem.

thank you!
User avatar
Pondera
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 4:06 pm
Location: Brindisi (Italy)

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by Pondera » Sun Jan 09, 2011 12:06 pm

DSL-504T updated via browser configuration from:

RouterTech_3.6.0D_20090922_2.91.1 (Adam2-4mb-flash; 20090922151907)

to:

RouterTech_3.6.0D_20110103_2.95 (Adam2-4mb-flash; 20110103012859)

Great work! Thanks to everyone! :mrgreen:
brylok1981
Regular
Regular
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 11:58 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by brylok1981 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:43 pm

thechief wrote:
tasso85 wrote:If I remember correctly, there is no such tool to convert an old config to a newer one, you'll have to do it all from scratch.

But I can agree with you, it's quite annoying...
As said above, you can do virtually everything using cm_cli commands. Attached is a script that I use to restore my settings following each firmware upgrade. I have it as "/nvram/startup.sh", so it runs every time the router boots up. I have my ISP and DDNS settings saved as "/nvram/user.conf". What this means is that, after each firmware upgrade and automatic reset of the confg, the next bootup sees all the ISP and other settings restored automatically. In such a case, the script will take about 3 minutes or more to complete its work. It is not always 100% successful in restoring absolutely everything, and one needs to check via the web interface that it is all there. But the success rate is about 95%. If the firmware is already configured for the ISP, the script just returns without doing anything.

This is a limited script for my own purposes, and it is still very much work-in-progress. Studying it will give you a good idea of how to use cm_cli* commands, and how the various config.xml keys are specified. Anyone who wishes to take this on as a project to develop it into an all-singing, all-dancing router configuration script is welcome to do so.

As usual, all disclaimers apply. Use at your own peril.
can i use cm_cli to set qos and firewall rules??
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by thechief » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:43 pm

Great to hear these success reports. :)
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by thechief » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:46 pm

brylok1981 wrote:can i use cm_cli to set qos and firewall rules??
Yes - if you know what commands and parameters to pass.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
AhmedElsabbagh
Novice
Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:56 am

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by AhmedElsabbagh » Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:43 pm

Upgrade successfully from 2.94 to 2.95 on D-Link 520T ..

Thanks all fot this great work .
typhoon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:17 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by typhoon » Sun Jan 09, 2011 8:22 pm

Hi All,

I had some problems with my new ISP, there are some incompatibility issues between my pppd and their Radius server (cause i has that fw for 4 years with another ISP without a problem), my pppd stops and only a reboot make it work again, anyway, i thought it might be the positive thing to move on with a new open firmware and googled my TI fw version then i reached RouterTech, couple of page reading and i decided to go with routertech-ar7wrd-1350A-pspboot-firmware-20100408 after a RUC check. I gotta admit it was really stupid to do this update cause there was huge possibility to brick my modem. However everything worked perfectly and i upgraded my old modem with routertech-ar7wrd-1350A-pspboot-firmware-20100408 from its web GUI.

Then i dig for security and wireless connectivity, in routertech-ar7wrd-1350A-pspboot-firmware-20100408 i couldn't make WPA2 work, so i decied to upgrade routertech-ar7wrd-1350A-pspboot-firmware-20100818 which is recommended for my modem by RUC. It doesn't solve my problem either so i felt i have to upgrade to 2.95 even it's not adviced by RUC. I made my upgrade from Web GUI again and suddenly WPA2 problem is just gone. Then i move to another challenge, which is WDS connection with my BRCM chipped router. I gotta admit after some smooth changes it's working properly.

Well all this journey took my 3-4 hours nad i'm quite happy with my new features and i got a lot of things to test. But first i need to be sure that my pppd problem is solved cause this was the main reason to switch to a open firmware. It takes time to observe and see if it's gone or not.

Well great to meet with RouterTech, i will be your follower now.

Cheers

Typhoon Master
User avatar
mysticalos
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:46 pm
Location: Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by mysticalos » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:00 pm

i have same problem with ppp if i use pppoe, if i use pppoa i don't have problems, pppoe if connection is lost with my ISP (since they have a tendancy to kill connection remotely without a termination packet, pppoe typically just hangs and doesn't function untl reboot). pppoa works fine with mY ISps bad

so you may want to try pppoa if you aren't already
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by thechief » Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:15 pm

typhoon wrote:Hi All,
Hi :)
typhoon wrote:i felt i have to upgrade to 2.95 even it's not adviced by RUC.
That's only because the RUC has not yet been updated to know about v2.95.
typhoon wrote:I made my upgrade from Web GUI again and suddenly WPA2 problem is just gone.
Hmm ... there shouldn't really be any difference from v2.94 in that regard.
typhoon wrote:Then i move to another challenge, which is WDS connection with my BRCM chipped router. I gotta admit after some smooth changes it's working properly.
Well, you're the first person I know who has got WDS working. Congratulations! :playguitar: Perhaps you might want to write a "How To" on how to get WDS working?
typhoon wrote:Well all this journey took my 3-4 hours nad i'm quite happy with my new features and i got a lot of things to test. But first i need to be sure that my pppd problem is solved cause this was the main reason to switch to a open firmware. It takes time to observe and see if it's gone or not.
If it doesn't, then you could always enable check-sync.
typhoon wrote:Well great to meet with RouterTech, i will be your follower now.
:)
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
logos2000
Novice
Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:58 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by logos2000 » Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:59 am

1. After few hours isn't avalible to enter 192.168.1.1 with browser or telnet, but internet (adsl) work's great :roll:
hw d-link G604t (pspboot), sw RT 2.95
2. How to enable Darkstat? when i enter command to "run command" i see command not found
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by thechief » Mon Jan 10, 2011 3:27 pm

logos2000 wrote:1. After few hours isn't avalible to enter 192.168.1.1 with browser or telnet, but internet (adsl) work's great :roll:
hw d-link G604t (pspboot), sw RT 2.95
Post the system diagnostics.
logos2000 wrote:2. How to enable Darkstat? when i enter command to "run command" i see command not found
firmware-faq/features.html
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
paaaja
Regular
Regular
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:18 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by paaaja » Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:25 pm

logos2000 wrote:1. After few hours isn't avalible to enter 192.168.1.1 with browser or telnet, but internet (adsl) work's great :roll:
hw d-link G604t (pspboot), sw RT 2.95
I've had the exact same problem. Just disable UPnP and you will be back on track. Now I have 7-day-uptime and still holding, full access to 192.168.1.1
Miniupnpd client seems somewhat buggy (according to Google).
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by thechief » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:06 pm

paaaja wrote:Miniupnpd client seems somewhat buggy (according to Google).
Perhaps (I haven't had a problem with it). But the original upnpd was even buggier. If anything was guaranteed to kill the router, that was it (ditto for snmp).
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
logos2000
Novice
Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:58 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by logos2000 » Mon Jan 10, 2011 6:06 pm

http://pokazywarka.pl/8mvrt6/

Strange is "bad password attempt for 'root' from 212.119.74.61:42227" etc. is this hack from net?
User avatar
ssnaked
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:23 pm
Location: Parma, Italy

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.95 Discussion

Post by ssnaked » Mon Jan 10, 2011 7:10 pm

Roper FLYNET ADSL2/2+ Wireless Router (ROADSL2P-WG) upgraded from 2.94 to 2.95 release (routertech-ar7wrd-pspboot-firmware-4ports-20110103.zip) with no problem.

thank you!

Ps: Where I can find the differences between 2.94 and 2.95 release?
Roper FlyNet ADSL 2/2plus Wireless 125 Mbps Router [ROADSL2P-WG]
RouterTech AR7WRD Custom Firmware ( v2.97 )
RouterTech_3.6.0D_20120130_2.97
Locked