RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

All about firmwares for routers. Support for RouterTech firmwares is here too.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2671
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by Kieran » Sun May 08, 2011 8:56 pm

This is the place to discuss (thanks, suggestions, criticisms etc.) the v2.96 release of the RouterTech firmware, available for download here

For support, problems, bugs or other such firmware related questions or issues, please start a new thread
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
paaaja
Regular
Regular
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:18 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by paaaja » Mon May 09, 2011 9:47 pm

Everything OK here, updated Well PTI-845 to 2.96 version. Telnet sessions seem to be processed slightly nimbler. Thanks, guys.

Btw: Why is there in the system branch an option to shutdown the router? When I want to shut it down, I just pull the plug from the outlet, and it has always worked fine. I know this option was also there in earlier releases, but this question came to my mind just about now...
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by thechief » Mon May 09, 2011 10:30 pm

Thanks for the report. :)
paaaja wrote:Btw: Why is there in the system branch an option to shutdown the router? When I want to shut it down, I just pull the plug from the outlet, and it has always worked fine.
It will work fine if all you are doing is running things out of the box (i.e., with just the default read-only filesystem). But if you have a minix partition, or have mounted a network share via smbfs, you will lose data if you don't shut down properly (it would be just like unplugging the power from a PC while the operating system is still running).
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by thechief » Mon May 09, 2011 11:08 pm

Anyone who has successfully upgraded to v2.96 can assist us by following the procedure outlined in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4191

Thanks. :)
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
ssnaked
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:23 pm
Location: Parma, Italy

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by ssnaked » Mon May 09, 2011 11:13 pm

Upgrade ok. Thank you.
Roper FlyNet ADSL 2/2plus Wireless 125 Mbps Router [ROADSL2P-WG]
RouterTech AR7WRD Custom Firmware ( v2.97 )
RouterTech_3.6.0D_20120130_2.97
User avatar
hiteck
Regular
Regular
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 7:45 am
Location: N. America

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by hiteck » Wed May 11, 2011 11:35 pm

Upgrade OK. :) Using PPPoE and Bridge mode at same time (yes, 2 shared connections).

I had to manually re-configure ALL settings after upgrade as the new firmware would not accept the old v2.95 config.bin file (using GUI). :(

Should also work on Qwest GT701, non-wireless and GT704 also.

The Home page does not show correct WAN IP status in this mode now under v2.96. Maybe due to being in "half-bridge mode" ? This was OK under v2.95 in the same modem. The following is while both connections are live.

Code: Select all

Firmware version:	RouterTech_3.6.0D_20110502_2.96 (Adam2_1-Port; 20110502011811) 
System Uptime: 	3 hours 39 minutes 
DSL Status:	Connected
DSL Speed:	896/1536kbps
Ethernet:	Disconnected
WAN IP Address: 	("ppp1") ("dsl_bridge") 
WAN Uptime: 	("ppp1") ("dsl_bridge")
One issue I should have reported before: DDNS works with DNSoMatic, but the DDNS status page states no IP address to update, and the syslog only shows a message about the ddns update sometimes. Yet the update to DNSoMatic is almost always good. This seems to be fixed in v2.96. EDIT: Not fixed yet, just sporadic.

Also, we have been battling issues using an iPod, with iTunes full logon, and iPod App updates and Apple Facetime. Most other comms are fine. The ipod error messages tend to point to "Network/connection" problems. I suspect it may be due to using Rshaper but I do not have any firm evidence yet. This was with RT v2.95 (via pppoe). These issues do not occur with other routers on the same dsl line or cable internet either. EDIT: The ipod touch was fixed with a firmware update from apple.

Thanks for the update Chief.
Last edited by hiteck on Tue May 24, 2011 8:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Any fool can make things complicated. It takes a genius to make things simple. - Einstein Jobs
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by thechief » Fri May 13, 2011 5:34 pm

hiteck wrote:Upgrade OK. :) Using PPPoE and Bridge mode at same time (yes, 2 shared connections).
I am surprised that it works at all. But you need to understand that having more than one connection is not supported.
hiteck wrote:I had to manually re-configure ALL settings after upgrade as the new firmware would not accept the old v2.95 config.bin file (using GUI). :(
No, it won't. What would be the point of resetting to defaults, if you can just replace the config with an old one again?
hiteck wrote:The Home page does not show correct WAN IP status in this mode now under v2.96. Maybe due to being in "half-bridge mode" ? This was OK under v2.95 in the same modem. The following is while both connections are live.
As I have said, having more than one connection is not supported.
hiteck wrote:One issue I should have reported before: DDNS works with DNSoMatic, but the DDNS status page states no IP address to update, and the syslog only shows a message about the ddns update sometimes. Yet the update to DNSoMatic is almost always good. This seems to be fixed in v2.96.
Good. But I have never seen that problem before.
hiteck wrote:Also, we have been battling issues using an iPod, with iTunes full logon, and iPod App updates and Apple Facetime. Most other comms are fine. The ipod error messages tend to point to "Network/connection" problems. I suspect it may be due to using Rshaper but I do not have any firm evidence yet. This was with RT v2.95 (via pppoe). These issues do not occur with other routers on the same dsl line or cable internet either.
Without seeing the system diagnostics, I would not possibly comment.
hiteck wrote:Thanks for the update Chief.
You're welcome :)
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
yavathol
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 12:48 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by yavathol » Fri May 13, 2011 11:12 pm

I've managed to upload the latest RT firmware to my Asmax AR 804gu! Took me a while to get it all the way through DLink 804 and 824 (had some issues with it for some reason), and finally a big success. Led still require corrections, but that can wait till next week - right now it works, and works great compared to what I had before.
Thank you guys for great work!
silvioxx
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:48 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by silvioxx » Sat May 14, 2011 7:28 am

v2.96 usuccessfully pgraded with Router FlyNet ADSL 2/2 Wireless 125 Mbps.
Great job. Thanks,
Silvio
Erario
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:44 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by Erario » Tue May 17, 2011 8:51 am

I've upgraded my DG834G V3 from V2.95 to V2.96 without problems, from the web interface... :-)
News about the "led" for this router? :?
paaaja
Regular
Regular
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:18 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by paaaja » Tue May 17, 2011 10:58 pm

Can the system log be completely disabled? I don't want to keep any tracks of router's actions whatsoever. In dd-wrt syslogd can be turned off. I suspect this is not a well documented part of Routertech firmware. Thanks for the answer
Pavel
Attachments
dd-wrt.jpg
(8.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by thechief » Tue May 17, 2011 11:52 pm

Erario wrote:I've upgraded my DG834G V3 from V2.95 to V2.96 without problems, from the web interface... :-)
News about the "led" for this router? :?
No - and unless someone can figure out the GPIO settings to construct an led.conf that works as expected, there will be no news.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by thechief » Tue May 17, 2011 11:53 pm

paaaja wrote:Can the system log be completely disabled?
I am not aware of any way of doing so.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
void
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:26 am

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by void » Wed May 18, 2011 3:26 pm

Thanks for the great work. :)

Upgrade successful, there is a problem,

Modem running for some time, probably a few hours later, http (192.168.1.1) and telnet (192.168.1.1) and ftp (192.168.1.1) all failed, unable to connect.

But the Internet connection is normal, then after restarting the Modem function back to normal, and why?

In addition [LAN GROUP 1] why only Eth1. Eth2, Eth3, Eth4 not?

Sorry, my English is not good, I hope you can understand what I mean. :mrgreen:

Code: Select all

ROUTERTECH SYSTEM DIAGNOSTICS

Router operating system version
Linux version 2.4.17_mvl21-malta-mips_fp_le (developers at RouterTech dot Org) #332 Mon May 2 01:40:13 BST 2011

Firmware version information
BUILD=RouterTech_3.7.1B_1350A_20110502_2.96_AR7WRD_psbl
VERSION=1350A_20110502
BOARD=AR7WRD
TARGET=psbl
FSSTAMP=20110502014434
ROHS=1

PSP version information

Linux OS DSL-PSP 5.2.1.1 on DEV_BasePSP7.4.4.24_Patch compiled at May  2 2011 01:41:15
Avalanche SOC Version: 0x11002b
Operating in cached, write back, write allocate mode
CPU Frequency: 211968000 Hz
System Bus frequency: 105984000 Hz
VBUS frequency: 52992000 Hz


Driver version information
Core Logic version: 3.7.1B
Texas Instruments : CPMAC Linux DDA version 1.9
Texas Instruments : CPMAC DDC version 0.3
ATM Driver version:[7.01.00.10]
DSL HAL version: [7.01.00.08]
DSP Datapump version: [7.01.01.00] Annex A
SAR HAL version: [01.07.2c]
PDSP Firmware version:[0.54]
Chipset ID: [Ohio250(7200/7100A2)]

Modem Modulation Information
NO_MODE			0x0
ADSL_G.dmt			0x2
ADSL_G.lite			0x4
ADSL_G.dmt.bis			0x8
ADSL_G.dmt.bis_DELT			0x9
ADSL_2plus			0x10
ADSL_2plus_DELT			0x11
ADSL_re-adsl			0x20
ADSL_re-adsl_DELT			0x21
ADSL_ANSI_T1.413			0x80
MULTI_MODE			0xff
ADSL_G.dmt.bis_AnxI			0x0
ADSL_G.dmt.bis_AnxJ			0x0
ADSL_G.dmt.bis_AnxM			0x400
ADSL_2plus_AnxI			0x0
ADSL_2plus_AnxJ			0x0
ADSL_2plus_AnxM			0x2000
G.shdsl			0x0
IDSL			0x0
HDSL			0x0
SDSL			0x0
VDSL			0x0

System environment (/proc/ticfg/env)
BUILD_OPS	0x301
bootloaderVersion	1.4.0.4
MODETTY0	115200,n,8,1,hw
MODETTY1	115200,n,8,1,hw
CPUFREQ	211968000
MIPSFREQ	211968000
SYSFREQ	105984000
HWRevision	Gaw7.2Z39-4
MAC_PORT	1
mtd2	0x90000000,0x90010000
HWA_RNDIS	00:E0:A6:66:41:E1
HWA_HRNDIS	00:E0:A6:66:41:E2
BOOTCFG	m:f:"mtd1"
ProductID	AR7WRD
SerialNumber	none
MEMSZ	0x01000000
FLASHSZ	0x00800000
PROMPT	(psbl)
DSL_BIT_TMODE	1
DSL_UPG_DONE	1
vcc_encaps0	0.0
vcc_encaps1	0.0
vcc_encaps2	0.0
vcc_encaps3	0.0
vcc_encaps4	0.0
vcc_encaps5	0.0
vcc_encaps6	0.0
vcc_encaps7	0.0
HWA_0	00:74:04:F1:4E:62
HWA_2	00:74:04:F1:4E:63
HWA_3	00:74:04:F1:4E:63
mac_ap	00:74:04:F1:4E:64
WLAN_HWADDR	00:74:04:F1:4E:64
WLAN_EEPROM0	021156041B06001200000601095612000000010D56A9000000026D54B5000004
WLAN_EEPROM1	74000000013984000100000101854C1068900105850600100001298507000000
WLAN_EEPROM2	01C1850000300001C585000000000111850000FFFF0115850000F0FF01A58500
WLAN_EEPROM3	8000000109850000800201010C03000000012184000000800181851D00030001
WLAN_EEPROM4	55090100000001E5580200000001F1580800000001D5581000000001B1580400
WLAN_EEPROM5	0000000000000000000C00C300FE0008011401260144014D014F0165019F01AF
WLAN_EEPROM6	01B70101390000110004010101000501060002010201021E000A000205020411
WLAN_EEPROM7	2244030610203031324004095449204143583130300507544920546573740108
WLAN_EEPROM8	1A0189B5035901ED0502000037007000A800E60004044410FD034510E703185A
WLAN_EEPROM9	4000145A2800020E0801CB000A0198025000C40176095000E6000A01F0025000
WLAN_EEPROM10	9E0176090107100000400000010000050400010100000000FFFFFFFFFDFDFDFD
WLAN_EEPROM11	FBF4F4F4F40E0409090909090909090909090909090909090909090909090909
WLAN_EEPROM12	090909090909090909090909090909090909090909090909090909090909090E
WLAN_EEPROM13	0100000000000000000000000000000302A318A3180700012000000000000000
WLAN_EEPROM14	00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
NVS_TFTP_LOAD	0
vlynq_polarity	low
Max_MACs	0
connection1	0xe025

connection0	0x772f

connection6	0
TR69_CR_USERNAME	plugfest
TR69_CR_PASSWORD	plugfest
Route_Enabled	1
configid	1
led_conf	led.generic2
mtd0 1	0x90020090,0x900a1000
IPA	192.168.1.1
mtd4	0x90020000,0x90400000
mtd1	0x90020090,0x900a1000
mtd0	0x900a1000,0x90400000
mtd3	0x90010000,0x90020000
mtd5	0x90420000,0x90800000

CPU information
processor		: 0
cpu model		: MIPS 4KEc V4.8
BogoMIPS		: 211.35
wait instruction	: no
microsecond timers	: yes
extra interrupt vector	: yes
hardware watchpoint	: yes
VCED exceptions		: not available
VCEI exceptions		: not available

Memory (RAM) information
        total:    used:    free:  shared: buffers:  cached:
Mem:  14512128 10985472  3526656        0  1454080  4747264
Swap:        0        0        0
MemTotal:        14172 kB
MemFree:          3444 kB
MemShared:           0 kB
Buffers:          1420 kB
Cached:           4636 kB
SwapCached:          0 kB
Active:           1708 kB
Inactive:         6012 kB
HighTotal:           0 kB
HighFree:            0 kB
LowTotal:        14172 kB
LowFree:          3444 kB
SwapTotal:           0 kB
SwapFree:            0 kB

Flash memory (chip) information
Flash_type=AMD; Manufacturer=Unknown!.
Manufacturer_ID=0x007F; Chip_ID=0x007E; Chip_Size=0x800000; Erase_Regions=0x0001

Mount points
/dev/mtdblock/0 / squashfs ro 0 0
none /dev devfs rw 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
ramfs /var ramfs rw 0 0

Filesystems
nodev	rootfs
nodev	bdev
nodev	proc
nodev	sockfs
nodev	tmpfs
nodev	shm
nodev	pipefs
nodev	ramfs
	minix
nodev	devfs
	squashfs

MTD
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 0035f000 00010000 "mtd0"
mtd1: 00080f70 00010000 "mtd1"
mtd2: 00010000 00010000 "mtd2"
mtd3: 00010000 00010000 "mtd3"
mtd4: 003e0000 00010000 "mtd4"

Kernel modules
tiatm                 135360 c0021060 96    0 (unused)

Interrupts
  7:     6537   R4000 timer/counter [MIPS interrupt]
  8:        0   unified secondary [hw0 (Avalanche Primary)]
 15:      206   serial [hw0 (Avalanche Primary)]
 23:        0 + SAR  [hw0 (Avalanche Primary)]
 27:      238 + Cpmac Driver [hw0 (Avalanche Primary)]
 29:        0   vlynq0 [hw0 (Avalanche Primary)]
 31:       60 + DSL  [hw0 (Avalanche Primary)]

Devices
Character devices:
  1 mem
  2 pty/m%d
  3 pty/s%d
  4 tts/%d
  5 cua/%d
 10 misc
 36 netlink
108 ppp
128 ptm
136 pts/%d
162 raw

Block devices:
  7 loop
 31 mtdblock

Serial port information
serinfo:1.0 driver:5.05c revision:2001-07-08
0: uart:16550A port:A8610E00 irq:15 baud:7944 tx:3066 rx:0 RTS|DTR
1: uart:unknown port:A8610F00 irq:16

Processes
  PID USER       VSZ STAT COMMAND
    1 root      1060 S    init
    2 root         0 SW   [keventd]
    3 root         0 SWN  [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
    4 root         0 SW   [kswapd]
    5 root         0 SW   [bdflush]
    6 root         0 SW   [kupdated]
    7 root         0 SW   [mtdblockd]
  556 root      2308 S    /usr/sbin/mini_httpd -d /usr/www -u root -p 80 -c /c
  557 root      2248 S    /usr/bin/cm_pc
  559 root      5016 S    /usr/bin/cm_logic -m /dev/ticfg -c /etc/config.xml
  637 root      1060 S    init
  668 root       748 S    /sbin/dproxy -c /etc/resolv.conf -d
  864 root       968 S    /usr/sbin/udhcpd /var/tmp/udhcpd.conf
  890 root      1072 S N  /bin/sh diagnostics.cgi
  891 root      2352 S    /usr/sbin/mini_httpd -d /usr/www -u root -p 80 -c /c
  896 root      1236 S N  /usr/local/bin/diagnostics
  897 root      1064 S N  sh -c /usr/local/bin/diagnostics.sh
  898 root      1128 S N  /bin/bash /usr/local/bin/diagnostics.sh
  936 root      1060 R N  /bin/ps

ADSL Modem information

AR7 DSL Modem Statistics:
--------------------------------
[DSL Modem Stats]
	US Connection Rate:	0	DS Connection Rate:	0
	DS Line Attenuation:	0	DS Margin:		0
	US Line Attenuation:	0	US Margin:		0
	US Payload :		0	DS Payload:		0
	US Superframe Cnt :	0	DS Superframe Cnt:	0
	US Transmit Power :	0	DS Transmit Power:	0
	LOS errors:		0	SEF errors:		0
	Errored Seconds:	0	Severely Err Secs:	0
	Frame mode:		0	Max Frame mode:		0
	Trained Path:		1	US Peak Cell Rate:	0
	Trained Mode:		2	Selected Mode:		65535
	ATUC Vendor Code:	4753504E	ATUC Revision:	1
	Hybrid Selected:	3	Trellis:		1
	Showtime Count:		0	DS Max Attainable Bit Rate: 4294967264 kbps
	BitSwap:		1	US Max Attainable Bit Rate:	n/a
	Annex: 			AnxA	psd_mask_qualifier: 0x0000
	Power Management Status: L3	DS HLINSC: 0
	US ACTPSD: 		0	DS ACTPSD: 0
	Total init. errors: 	2	Total init. timeouts: 0
	Showtime init. errors: 	2	Showtime init. timeouts: 0
	Last showtime init. errors: 2	Last showtime init. timeouts: 0
	ATUC ghsVid:  ff b5 47 53 50 4e 00 07
	T1413Vid: 00 00		T1413Rev: 00		VendorRev: 00
	ATUR ghsVid:  b5 00 54 53 54 43 00 00
	T1413Vid: 00 00	T1413Rev: 00	VendorRev: 00

	[Upstream (TX) Interleave path]
	CRC: 	0	FEC: 	0	NCD: 	0
	LCD: 	0	HEC: 	0

	[Downstream (RX) Interleave path]
	CRC: 	0	FEC: 	0	NCD: 	0
	LCD: 	0	HEC: 	0

	[Upstream (TX) Fast path]
	CRC: 	0	FEC: 	0	NCD: 	0
	LCD: 	0	HEC: 	0

	[Downstream (RX) Fast path]
	CRC: 	0	FEC: 	0	NCD: 	0
	LCD: 	0	HEC: 	0

[ATM Stats]
	[Upstream/TX]
	Good Cell Cnt:	0
	Idle Cell Cnt:	0

	Tx Packets Dropped Count:	0
	Tx Bad Packets Count:	0

	[Downstream/RX)]
	Good Cell Cnt:	0
	Idle Cell Cnt:	0
	Bad Hec Cell Cnt:	0
	Overflow Dropped Cell Cnt:	0
	Rx Packets Dropped Count:	0
	Rx Bad Packets Count:	0


[SAR AAL5 Stats]
	Tx PDU's:	0
	Rx PDU's:	0
	Tx Total Bytes:	0
	Rx Total Bytes:	0
	Tx Total Error Counts:	0
	Rx Total Error Counts:	0


[OAM Stats]
	Near End F5 Loop Back Count:	0
	Near End F4 Loop Back Count:	0
	Far End F5 Loop Back Count:	0
	Far End F4 Loop Back Count:	0
	SAR OAM Ping Response Drop Count=0

Modem DSL link information
INIT
1
failTrains=5

Trained modulation: 
ADSL_G.dmt

Path mode: 
paaaja
Regular
Regular
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:18 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by paaaja » Wed May 18, 2011 9:12 pm

thechief wrote:I am not aware of any way of doing so.
Well, for the time being I've just set all the router log levels to "Panic", which hardly ever happens. This way I have my logs empty.
Post Reply