RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

All about firmwares for routers. Support for RouterTech firmwares is here too.
Post Reply
Alpha_Tay
Novice
Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by Alpha_Tay » Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:07 am

Alpha_Tay wrote:hi, i have problem to start wireless again after turn it off, however, restart access point a few times fix it sometimes.

Jul 10 03:33:21 cfgmgr(ap): Restarting AP.....
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): AP Acquiring Lock
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): AP REPORT LOCK ACQUIRED
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): wlan_handle_load_event - Acquired Lock
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): MAC address is : -
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): WPA Authenticator Started
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): Error: AP - Invalid RTS Threshold Parameter
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): ERROR : AP Driver configuration failed : 2
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): ERROR : Configure and Restart AP Driver
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): AP Releasing Lock
any admin acknowledge this?

and about
restart access point a few times fix it sometimes.
there is still problem for any wifi client to connect and surf.

so now i have to restart the router if i want to use the wifi.
Yaron
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 11:23 am

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by Yaron » Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:05 pm

thechief wrote:Please post the system diagnostics ("Tools" menu) - and explain how your network is configured (I don't understand this talk of other nodes (routers)).
I wasn't sure about the forum's policy regarding pasting long texts so I used the Ubuntu pastebin, you can find my diags here: http://paste.ubuntu.com/695572/

When I say nodes I mean several other routers that are used as switches, I just had more luck finding this kind of equipment instead of switches...

Thank you!
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by thechief » Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:58 pm

Yaron wrote:I wasn't sure about the forum's policy regarding pasting long texts so I used the Ubuntu pastebin, you can find my diags here: http://paste.ubuntu.com/695572/
It is not complete.
Yaron wrote:When I say nodes I mean several other routers that are used as switches
You need to explain this configuration in detail.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by thechief » Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:01 pm

Alpha_Tay wrote:
Alpha_Tay wrote:hi, i have problem to start wireless again after turn it off, however, restart access point a few times fix it sometimes.

Jul 10 03:33:21 cfgmgr(ap): Restarting AP.....
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): AP Acquiring Lock
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): AP REPORT LOCK ACQUIRED
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): wlan_handle_load_event - Acquired Lock
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): MAC address is : -
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): WPA Authenticator Started
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): Error: AP - Invalid RTS Threshold Parameter
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): ERROR : AP Driver configuration failed : 2
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): ERROR : Configure and Restart AP Driver
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): AP Releasing Lock
any admin acknowledge this?

and about
restart access point a few times fix it sometimes.
there is still problem for any wifi client to connect and surf.

so now i have to restart the router if i want to use the wifi.
If you want help, provide full details.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
Alpha_Tay
Novice
Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by Alpha_Tay » Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:36 pm

thechief wrote:
Alpha_Tay wrote:
Alpha_Tay wrote:hi, i have problem to start wireless again after turn it off, however, restart access point a few times fix it sometimes.

Jul 10 03:33:21 cfgmgr(ap): Restarting AP.....
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): AP Acquiring Lock
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): AP REPORT LOCK ACQUIRED
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): wlan_handle_load_event - Acquired Lock
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): MAC address is : -
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): WPA Authenticator Started
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): Error: AP - Invalid RTS Threshold Parameter
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): ERROR : AP Driver configuration failed : 2
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): ERROR : Configure and Restart AP Driver
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): AP Releasing Lock
any admin acknowledge this?

and about
restart access point a few times fix it sometimes.
there is still problem for any wifi client to connect and surf.

so now i have to restart the router if i want to use the wifi.
If you want help, provide full details.
i have problem to start wifi again after turn it off, restart access point a few times did fix it, actually can turn it back on now, but all connecting wifi client would get 169.254.x ip error, so the solution is still restart the whole router. modem is aztech 605ew, error log is below.

Jul 10 03:33:21 cfgmgr(ap): Restarting AP.....
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): AP Acquiring Lock
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): AP REPORT LOCK ACQUIRED
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): wlan_handle_load_event - Acquired Lock
Jul 10 03:36:31 cfgmgr(ap): MAC address is : -
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): WPA Authenticator Started
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): Error: AP - Invalid RTS Threshold Parameter
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): ERROR : AP Driver configuration failed : 2
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): ERROR : Configure and Restart AP Driver
Jul 10 03:36:34 cfgmgr(ap): AP Releasing Lock

below is another error log for "restart access point a few times did fix it, actually can turn it back on now, but all connecting wifi client would get 169.254.x ip error"

Sep 24 21:04:35 cfgmgr(ap): Restarting AP.....
Sep 24 21:04:49 cfgmgr(ap): AP Acquiring Lock
Sep 24 21:04:49 cfgmgr(ap): AP REPORT LOCK ACQUIRED
Sep 24 21:04:49 cfgmgr(ap): wlan_handle_load_event - Acquired Lock
Sep 24 21:04:49 cfgmgr(ap): MAC address is : 00:30:0a:10:10:16
Sep 24 21:04:52 cfgmgr(ap): WPA Authenticator Started
Sep 24 21:04:56 cfgmgr(ap): Set PIL mode (1)
Sep 24 21:04:56 cfgmgr(ap): AP Driver configuration successful
Sep 24 21:05:09 cfgmgr(ap): AP IS UP
Sep 24 21:05:09 cfgmgr(ap): AP Releasing Lock
Sep 24 21:05:11 cfgmgr(lanbridge0): Bridge Interface Added: wbif0
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by thechief » Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:27 pm

You have hardly given any more details. Just posting the same thing over and over again is of no use. You need to explain what exactly it is that you are doing.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
Yaron
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 11:23 am

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by Yaron » Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:18 pm

thechief wrote:
Yaron wrote:I wasn't sure about the forum's policy regarding pasting long texts so I used the Ubuntu pastebin, you can find my diags here: http://paste.ubuntu.com/695572/
It is not complete.
The policy or the log?
I'm pretty sure the log is complete, I checked several times, it ends with RouterTech 2.96 and 2 more lines after it and that's exactly what my log shows...
Yaron wrote:When I say nodes I mean several other routers that are used as switches
You need to explain this configuration in detail.
OK, One modem router (Aztec 600E) connected directly to Edimax (No wireless, WAN port and 4 LAN ports), this router has 3 cables connected to it: The WAN connection to the Aztec, another LAN connection to a PC and another LAN to another Edimax (Same model), the second Edimax is connected to 2 additional computers, meaning that totally my network includes: 1 Aztec (connected to ADSL), 2 Edimax routers and 3 PCs, anything else?
Alpha_Tay
Novice
Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by Alpha_Tay » Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:43 am

thechief wrote:You have hardly given any more details. Just posting the same thing over and over again is of no use. You need to explain what exactly it is that you are doing.
i have problem to TURN ON the router wifi again after turn it off, simple enough?
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by thechief » Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:56 am

Yaron wrote:anything else?
A complete system diagnostics for the 600E, an explanation of how the other routers are configured (and which firmware they are running), and how one of the other routers manages to disconnect the 600E. I can't see why there should be a problem, but I am not exactly sure what is going on in your set up. The bottom line is that if v2.93 is happy with this setup, and v2.96 is not, then you would be well advised to go back to v2.93.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by thechief » Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:58 am

Alpha_Tay wrote:i have problem to TURN ON the router wifi again after turn it off, simple enough?
No - but I guess you have your reasons for performing this exercise. The long and short of it is: do whatever works in terms of resolving the problem.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
Alpha_Tay
Novice
Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by Alpha_Tay » Wed Sep 28, 2011 1:25 pm

thechief wrote:
Alpha_Tay wrote:i have problem to TURN ON the router wifi again after turn it off, simple enough?
No - but I guess you have your reasons for performing this exercise. The long and short of it is: do whatever works in terms of resolving the problem.
the problem is, nothing actually REALLY fix the problem, except restart the router, which is a problem needed to be fix on the firmware itself.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by thechief » Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:45 pm

There are some things that one can do that are not easily restored without restarting the router. Restarting the AP is not a straightforward matter, since many things need to happen behind the scenes in a certain sequence. Any one of those things may suffer a hiccup. If restarting the router is the only thing that works for you, then that is what you need to do.

Personally, I do not consider this a priority in terms of providing a fix, especially since the relevant process is managed by the core logic, for which we have no sources. As usual, all patches will be gratefully received.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
Alpha_Tay
Novice
Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:05 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by Alpha_Tay » Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:09 am

thechief wrote:There are some things that one can do that are not easily restored without restarting the router. Restarting the AP is not a straightforward matter, since many things need to happen behind the scenes in a certain sequence. Any one of those things may suffer a hiccup. If restarting the router is the only thing that works for you, then that is what you need to do.

Personally, I do not consider this a priority in terms of providing a fix, especially since the relevant process is managed by the core logic, for which we have no sources. As usual, all patches will be gratefully received.
but this bug dont happen in original aztech firmware
User avatar
Alan
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 771
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:29 am
Location: Nottingham

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by Alan » Thu Sep 29, 2011 9:18 am

Alpha_Tay wrote:
thechief wrote:There are some things that one can do that are not easily restored without restarting the router. Restarting the AP is not a straightforward matter, since many things need to happen behind the scenes in a certain sequence. Any one of those things may suffer a hiccup. If restarting the router is the only thing that works for you, then that is what you need to do.

Personally, I do not consider this a priority in terms of providing a fix, especially since the relevant process is managed by the core logic, for which we have no sources. As usual, all patches will be gratefully received.
but this bug dont happen in original aztech firmware
The easy solution would be to go back to the Aztech firmware, if that works OK for you!
I Wanna Live 'till I Die!
Morozko
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 2:29 pm

Re: RouterTech Firmware 2.96 Discussion

Post by Morozko » Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:35 am

I have very bad experience of upgrading my DSL-G604T by your Firmware v.2.96 thru web interface. All preliminary "dances with tamburine" stipulated particularly (and I thing "with love" from your side) in "docs" directory of "routertech-ar7wrd-adam2-firmware-4ports-20110502" were made by me...
Whole process of upgrading I made in Safe mode of my OS. After 20 minutes of waiting since starting upgrade process - nothing happend and even after router rebooting "status" led of my router was not blinking.
After refreshing web page 192.168.1.1 I have got login/password page with yr. logo above, but it was not absolutely possible to pass thru it. Exectly the same situation was with telnet service....
I tried a lot of login/pass combinations: admin/admin, root/admin, user/user, adam2/adam2, root/root...
After that I tried to upgrade my device by your firmware thru repair way - by using at first "rrt_1.0.8", and then "tiupgrade" (with changing firmware name in tiupgrade.scp for the new one) but I was not succeeded in this approach.
So, after a lot of spending time, I have to use repair standard utility "DLinkEU_DSL-G604T_V2.00B01T01.EU.20050930_upgradeB10.exe" and after that I could upgrade my router by web interface to firmware DSL-G604T_V2.01.B01T01RU.20060109, but as a collateral result of my experiments with your firmware I still have your login/pass entering page (but without your logo, thanks god !) right after I pass thru standard login/pass window ! Now I have only one question - how can I remove it FOREVER ???
Thanks in advance, and sorry for the negative post...
Post Reply