Browse internet from work using my home router?

General networking problems and issues. Questions about cabling, switches, hubs etc. can go here.
Post Reply
matttaylor
Novice
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 3:02 pm

Browse internet from work using my home router?

Post by matttaylor » Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:23 pm

Hello all,

My work has decided to restrict our internet access on the sites we visit.
I believe all our internet traffic goes through a proxy server here.
I got around it temporarily by using remote desktop to my home PC and surfing from there but now that has been blocked too.

Is there something I can do to use my router directly?

I wouldn't mind but they have been very secretive about it and just blocking things without any word so I don't mind playing their game if I can.

Thanks.
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:33 pm

Technical "solutions" aside for the moment - be VERY careful what you do - you may well find that what you are attempting is now in breach of your Company's Policies and as such may well be "punishable" :wink:
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
matttaylor
Novice
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 3:02 pm

Post by matttaylor » Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:55 pm

Shotokan101 wrote:Technical "solutions" aside for the moment - be VERY careful what you do - you may well find that what you are attempting is now in breach of your Company's Policies and as such may well be "punishable" :wink:
They don't have any policies that's the problem. Just one guy who's in charge of it all and does what he likes with no discussion.
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Wed Jul 16, 2008 2:23 pm

Well - you ahev been "warned" now so if still interested then you may wish to have a look here :-

http://offsurf.com/articles/howtobypass/

http://www.ultrathought.com/how-to-beat ... y-firewall
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
SyBorg
Ex RouterTech Team
Ex RouterTech Team
Posts: 1621
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:09 pm
Location: Berkshire
Contact:

Post by SyBorg » Wed Jul 16, 2008 3:24 pm

An interesting read. If I tried that in my work I would very quickly find I had plenty of time to browse the internet from home :D
We learn something every day, and lots of times it’s that what we learned the day before was wrong.
—Bill Vaughan
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Wed Jul 16, 2008 3:26 pm

SyBorg wrote:An interesting read. If I tried that in my work I would very quickly find I had plenty of time to browse the internet from home :D
That was my point - I even got a firewall warning for trying to access the first one as it was flagged as "proxy avoidance" :oops:
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
matttaylor
Novice
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 3:02 pm

Post by matttaylor » Wed Jul 16, 2008 5:16 pm

Thanks, I'll take a look when I get home. :wink:
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Wed Jul 16, 2008 6:00 pm

matttaylor wrote:
Thanks, I'll take a look when I get home. :wink:
I fugured that one out :D
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
matttaylor
Novice
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 3:02 pm

Post by matttaylor » Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:09 pm

Yes, that first link you sent describes the kind of thing I was thinking of.
I'll give it a go when I get some time and feedback to you. ;)
willshep
Regular
Regular
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 1:45 pm

Post by willshep » Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:36 pm

Google search for circumventor - has easy install - sets up a webserver on your home PC with a CGI script on it that 'proxifys' web pages - so as long as you can access your home PC from work, you'll be able to access anything.

You may want to sign up to Dyndns to get a name so that you don't have to use IP the whole time.

it works well here. and it can work from port 443 which should be more secure.

W.

p.s. bypassing most companies proxy server is generally always gross misconduct but hey... sometimes checking your Superwall really is more important than your job....
Menchi
Novice
Novice
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 2:32 pm

Re:

Post by Menchi » Sat Oct 18, 2008 10:57 pm

Hi there.. i think this what your looking..

http://www.logmein.com subscrive the free service and you can acess internet from browser... or anything in the computer...

If not, it's a VPN, but i don't know to much about VPN's..
Jatas
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by Shotokan101 » Sat Oct 18, 2008 11:06 pm

AFIK LMI only requires http access on port 80....

Jim
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
Mazo
Novice
Novice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:59 pm

Post by Mazo » Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:34 am

If you want a secure way to do what you're asking, and a way to route ANY port over your chosen port, then look up cygwin and openssh. It's basically an encrypted proxy, so for example if a game ran over port 27015 (source games) you could route that through port 443 to your home computer, then to the destination server. Works very nicely for circumventing firewalls =)
Post Reply