DSL-G604T repaired!

General networking problems and issues. Questions about cabling, switches, hubs etc. can go here.
dom_b
Novice
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:22 am

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by dom_b » Tue Mar 16, 2010 11:34 am

Excellent. Managed to get it hooked up to Orange UK instead of my livebox and appears to work just as well! Only one thing, there is a high pitched whining noise when the ADSL modem is on. Any ideas what this would be? Its an old router so not surprised. Just wondering if a different microfilter or something would help... Cant see how I would get rid of it.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by thechief » Tue Mar 16, 2010 1:11 pm

You can try a different dsp driver (e.g., dsp62A).
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
dom_b
Novice
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:22 am

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by dom_b » Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:24 pm

thechief wrote:Save this into a text file, and run it as a script with the pctool

Code: Select all

setenv autoload 1
setenv autoload_timeout 25
setenv bootloaderVersion 0.22.02
setenv bootserport tty0
setenv checksync.sh 1
setenv cpufrequency 150000000
setenv cron_la.sh 2
setenv firstfreeaddress 0x9401d328
setenv flashsize 0x00400000
setenv HWRevision Unknown
setenv maca 00:0d:08:00:03:02
setenv memchk.sh 1
setenv memsize 0x01000000
setenv modetty0 38400,n,8,1,hw
setenv modetty1 38400,n,8,1,hw
setenv modulation 0xff
setenv mtd0 0x90099000,0x903f0000
setenv mtd1 0x90010090,0x90099000
setenv mtd2 0x90000000,0x90010000
setenv mtd3 0x903F0000,0x90400000
setenv mtd4 0x90010000,0x903f0000
setenv my_ipaddress 192.168.1.1
setenv ProductID AR7RD
setenv prompt Adam2_AR7RD
setenv req_fullrate_freq 125000000
setenv SerialNumber none
setenv StaticBuffer 128
setenv sysfrequency 125000000
setenv usb_board_mac 00.0d.88.22.03.02
setenv usb_man D-Link
setenv usb_pid 0x5b00
setenv usb_prod DSL-302T
setenv usb_rndis_mac 00.0d.88.11.03.02
setenv usb_serial 1234567890
setenv usb_vid 0x2001
setenv vcc_encaps0 0.0
setenv vcc_encaps1 0.0
setenv vcc_encaps2 0.0
setenv vcc_encaps3 0.0
setenv vcc_encaps4 0.0
setenv vcc_encaps5 0.0
setenv vcc_encaps6 0.0
setenv vcc_encaps7 0.0
That will restore your environment. Then reboot the router, connect with the pctool again, and flash the RT firmware, and all should be well. Most likely, this would have cured any fragmentation of the environment!
This router died again but I've just managed to unbrick it and update to the latest firmware after 3 hours of trying!

I had a question about the details above though...

The router doesn't have any USB ports so are these details necessary? This is only out of curiosity...

setenv usb_board_mac 00.0d.88.22.03.02
setenv usb_man D-Link
setenv usb_pid 0x5b00
setenv usb_prod DSL-302T
setenv usb_rndis_mac 00.0d.88.11.03.02
setenv usb_serial 1234567890
setenv usb_vid 0x2001

Also, on the system diagnostics this is what I have:

Ethernet port 1: disconnected/inactive.
Ethernet port 2: disconnected/inactive.
Ethernet port 3: disconnected/inactive.
Ethernet port 4: disconnected/inactive.

But ethernet port 1 is in use and working... any ideas?

One last thing!

If I ran this command on the router (within the firmware, under System -> Run Command) would it then list the serial number in the diagnostics?

setenv SerialNumber XXXX
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by thechief » Sun Mar 13, 2011 4:40 pm

dom_b wrote:The router doesn't have any USB ports so are these details necessary? This is only out of curiosity...
setenv usb_board_mac 00.0d.88.22.03.02
setenv usb_man D-Link
setenv usb_pid 0x5b00
setenv usb_prod DSL-302T
setenv usb_rndis_mac 00.0d.88.11.03.02
setenv usb_serial 1234567890
setenv usb_vid 0x2001
Our firmware won't use those entries if you don't have a USB port - so, in that respect they serve no useful purpose. I don't know about your booloader - it may set those values again, even if you delete them.
dom_b wrote:Also, on the system diagnostics this is what I have:
Ethernet port 1: disconnected/inactive.
Ethernet port 2: disconnected/inactive.
Ethernet port 3: disconnected/inactive.
Ethernet port 4: disconnected/inactive.
But ethernet port 1 is in use and working... any ideas?
The vagaries of the Marvell switch emulation on different switches. What is the output of these commands?

Code: Select all

cat /proc/avalanche/marvell/1
cat /proc/sys/dev/marvell/1
If you had a Marvell switch, the answers would be "4" and "0".
dom_b wrote:If I ran this command on the router (within the firmware, under System -> Run Command) would it then list the serial number in the diagnostics?

setenv SerialNumber XXXX
It should. But it also depends on whether your bootloader will overwrite that value when you reboot.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
dom_b
Novice
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:22 am

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by dom_b » Mon Mar 14, 2011 6:58 pm

thechief wrote:
dom_b wrote:The router doesn't have any USB ports so are these details necessary? This is only out of curiosity...
setenv usb_board_mac 00.0d.88.22.03.02
setenv usb_man D-Link
setenv usb_pid 0x5b00
setenv usb_prod DSL-302T
setenv usb_rndis_mac 00.0d.88.11.03.02
setenv usb_serial 1234567890
setenv usb_vid 0x2001
Our firmware won't use those entries if you don't have a USB port - so, in that respect they serve no useful purpose. I don't know about your booloader - it may set those values again, even if you delete them.

Don't worry about this! For some reason I thought the details were from another router and you just said set thos values as they would work, but I see from my early posts this was the original config so thats correct.
dacapri
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:19 am

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by dacapri » Sat Jun 15, 2013 12:55 pm

thechief wrote:You can try a different dsp driver (e.g., dsp62A).
Hi,
I'm having the same problem.
I recovered my G604T with the latest RT firmware and now it is really noisy.

What do you mean with your sentence?

Could somebody change the title of the 3D? it may be interesting for other people.

Bye.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by thechief » Sat Jun 15, 2013 2:22 pm

dacapri wrote:
thechief wrote:You can try a different dsp driver (e.g., dsp62A).
Hi,
I'm having the same problem.
I recovered my G604T with the latest RT firmware and now it is really noisy.

What do you mean with your sentence?
firmware-faq/#dsp_drivers

Please read the FAQ thoroughly.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
dacapri
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:19 am

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by dacapri » Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:38 am

Hi TheChief,
thanks for the link.
I did a try with the different driver present in the drivers folder, in my case 70A and 75A but I still have the whining noise as soon as the modem is on.
Do you see any other way to fix this?

Thanks!
Daniele
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by thechief » Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:20 pm

The high pitched sound sometimes happens because the modern dsp drivers are working the chipset harder. Going down to dsp v5.x or 4.x may improve the situation - but we have not released a firmware with those dsp drivers for a very long time. If you don't want to backtrack to a very old firmware, then you will have to live with the whining. You can try manually setting the modulation to something like adsl g.dmt, which will make the system run slower - but I'm not sure if that will solve the problem.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
dacapri
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:19 am

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by dacapri » Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:34 pm

Hi,
I did some try with different modulation but there is no way to reduce the whining noise. :(

Just an additional thing: where can I found the original firmware for my DSL-G604T? can I flash it with pctool as I did with RT FW?
It is just to see if I can at least use this router or if I should trash it directly.

Regards,
Daniele
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by thechief » Sat Jun 29, 2013 1:43 pm

You have to look on D-Link sites for D-Link firmwares. If you find the appropriate D-Link firmware, you should be able to flash it with the PCTool.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
duke
Regular
Regular
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 7:03 pm

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by duke » Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:44 pm

if you are comfortable opening it up

add a drop of superglue to each toroidal coils you see on the chipset board

google toroidal coils / choke
https://www.google.co.in/search?q=toroi ... 80&bih=896
dacapri
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:19 am

Re: DSL-G604T repaired!

Post by dacapri » Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:05 pm

Thanks for your suggestion.
I'll ask somebody from electronic department of my company to do it.

But, what is exactly the reason to put super glue?
How will it act over the coils?
Is it safety?

Thanks a lot!!!!
Post Reply