ShellShock Bash bug.

General networking problems and issues. Questions about cabling, switches, hubs etc. can go here.
Post Reply
cele82
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:53 pm

ShellShock Bash bug.

Post by cele82 » Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:18 pm

HI,
running happily routertech here with OpenVPN enabled... anything to worry about SheelShock ? I have SSH remote login enabled for one IP only....something to worry about ?


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shellshock ... are_bug%29
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: ShellShock Bash bug.

Post by thechief » Sat Sep 27, 2014 2:09 pm

This is the code to test for the bug

Code: Select all

env x='() { :;}; echo oh hi' bash -c "echo you have a problem"
Try it at a shell prompt on the router and see the answer for yourself (clue: it won't run, because it won't find the "env" command).
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
Post Reply