I am having trouble with Windows 7

Talk about anything you like here: as long as it's technical, doesn't fit into the other categories and is within the rules. Questions and discussions about operating systems, programming, websites, hosting, ADSL etc. are particularly welcome here.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: I am having trouble with Windows 7

Post by thechief » Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:31 pm

Why not run WMPC and uncheck all the file associations?

You may also want to try searching Google.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2671
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: I am having trouble with Windows 7

Post by Kieran » Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:44 am

Moved to free chat technical
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
CropRotation
Regular
Regular
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:06 pm

Re: I am having trouble with Windows 7

Post by CropRotation » Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:11 am

Yea initially I was having trouble with my display adapter and in association with cheif trying to find a way for it. But while I installed a software suggested by chief I have run into this new trouble.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: I am having trouble with Windows 7

Post by thechief » Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:18 am

CropRotation wrote:But while I installed a software suggested by chief.
Hmmm ... I think what you described is a failure to install the software. Sisoft Sandra has been installed by millions, and does not cause such problems. I have even installed the latest version after your problem, and I can find no problem. I think you need to look for the source of your new problem elsewhere.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
CropRotation
Regular
Regular
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:06 pm

Re: I am having trouble with Windows 7

Post by CropRotation » Tue Jun 29, 2010 2:11 pm

thechief wrote:Why not run WMPC and uncheck all the file associations?
How can I do that? Tell me exactly where can I find the associated extension so that I can uncheck them as suggested.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: I am having trouble with Windows 7

Post by thechief » Tue Jun 29, 2010 3:26 pm

Control Panel->Programs->Default Programs->Set Associations
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
Antipodes
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 1:55 pm

Re: I am having trouble with Windows 7

Post by Antipodes » Sun Jul 04, 2010 2:12 pm

Co-incidentally, I was just given an SA85 to fix and I was considering whether to install Win7 32 on it. I found Vista drivers for the SiS vga, AC97 audio and the modem which someone noted may work.
http://support.acer-euro.com/drivers/de ... .html#bios

CropRotation, apart from the vga issue did everything else work using Windows 7?
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: I am having trouble with Windows 7

Post by Shotokan101 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 5:17 pm

Roll back using a recovery point.....

JIm
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4776
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: I am having trouble with Windows 7

Post by Shotokan101 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 5:24 pm

SiS Graphics drivers for Win 7 should be available from here :-

http://www.sis.com/download/agreement.p ... /download/

You should be looking for MIrage 3 Drivers I believe...

Jim
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
nightmoon
Novice
Novice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 10:23 am

Re: I am having trouble with Windows 7

Post by nightmoon » Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:15 pm

thank you expert i got a lot of information from this discuss
Post Reply