cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Talk about anything you like here: as long as it's technical, doesn't fit into the other categories and is within the rules. Questions and discussions about operating systems, programming, websites, hosting, ADSL etc. are particularly welcome here.
Post Reply
Mortie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 1:24 pm

cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Post by Mortie » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:22 pm

could anyone give me some info about these processes running on my router ?
cm_pc
cm_logic
cm_klogd
diap

I found them in the list of active processes using ps command on my router...
mstombs
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3753
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:54 pm

Re: cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Post by mstombs » Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:12 am

The first 3 at least are what we refer to as "core logic", they are binary only (no GPL sourcecode) router control processes.
Mortie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 1:24 pm

Re: cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Post by Mortie » Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:33 am

Can you describe them more specifically ?
What kinda things each of them do ?
Do they accept any parameters from the Command line ?
Is it possible and worth trying to decompile and dissemble them?
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Post by thechief » Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:02 pm

Mortie wrote:Can you describe them more specifically ?
He already said that they constitute the core logic. Between them, they (in conjunction with the linux OS) run everything to do with routing, configuration, system logs, driving the adsl modem, driving the wireless chip (if any), etc.
Mortie wrote:What kinda things each of them do ?
More or less what has just been described.
Mortie wrote:Do they accept any parameters from the Command line ?
Yes, some of them do - but you would be well advised to leave them alone. They are not meant to be toyed with from the command line.
Mortie wrote:Is it possible and worth trying to decompile and dissemble them?
I doubt it.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
Mortie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 1:24 pm

Re: cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Post by Mortie » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:59 pm

Thank you both for the info.
I'm actually digging up my adsl router to find a way to manage it remotely and automate some actions like changing the vpi and vci numbers and connecting to the isp, all by a single press of a button.
I'm able to automate the telnet process and I can manage any of the interfaces using ifconfig but I have no idea about where the vpi and vci and other adsl options are set and how to change them. So I thought maybe it's related to those processes!
Any idea what should I do ?
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Post by thechief » Fri Dec 21, 2012 11:31 am

Have a look at the cm_cli PDF file in the firmware docs.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
mstombs
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3753
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:54 pm

Re: cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Post by mstombs » Fri Dec 21, 2012 12:42 pm

I have a guess that cm_pc is a sort of inetd daemon, and cm_klogd is a syslog daemon, there's leaked partial sources for cm_logic in various GPL distros, but don't waste time trying to reverse engineer!
Mortie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 1:24 pm

Re: cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Post by Mortie » Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:12 pm

thechief wrote:Have a look at the cm_cli PDF file in the firmware docs.
that was a big help understanding what the cm_** commands do. So many thanks :D
gonna try it ASAP...
Mortie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 1:24 pm

Re: cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Post by Mortie » Fri Dec 21, 2012 9:01 pm

the cm_cli command worked like a charm.
thanks to everyone specially thechief
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Post by thechief » Fri Dec 21, 2012 9:51 pm

Mortie wrote:the cm_cli command worked like a charm.
thanks to everyone specially thechief
You're welcome :-) As you will have read, there is no documentation for the cm_cli* commands, and we are now trying to document everything that we discover by trial and error. So if you learn new commands and/or parameters for cm_cli*, then please share them, so that we can add them to the docs.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
Mortie
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 1:24 pm

Re: cm_pc , cm_logic , cm_klogd , diap processes ?!

Post by Mortie » Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:55 pm

well that would be my pleasure to help the documentation :D ...
Post Reply