Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Utilities and tools for networking, routers, setup etc
Post Reply
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by Neo » Sun Apr 01, 2007 12:59 pm

This utility has been created to help router owners find out if their routers can be upgraded to the RouterTech firmwares (and if so, which firmware file to pick).

Please read the instructions included in the zip file before using it. After running the RUC, please keep the files it generates safe - they will help you unbrick your router.

If you have problems running the RUC, please view the ReadMe file.

It is better to follow the error reporting procedure as described in the ReadMe file (because this helps to increase the number of routers that are supported by the RUC), but as a last resort, you can also use THIS script along with the Telnet Scripter to create a report to post on the forum.

Download v 1.4.1 (2.97 firmware), 226KB, MD5 Checksum = da20521a8d44b1a9c333324459f734b4
Download v 1.4.1 (2.96 firmware), 226KB, MD5 Checksum = fe5641e22c73875b16433a7d635dfc42
Download v 1.4.1 (2.95 firmware), 226KB, MD5 Checksum = b4fec17aa914135a3c51b4d18b2fe5ac

Anti-virus warnings etc
Due to the nature of the RUC (it needs to be able to access the router, act as a server etc), you may occasionally see false positives in your anti-virus/anti-spyware/anti-malware/security software. But to be on the safe side (to be sure you have downloaded the correct file), you can confirm the file size and MD5 checksum are correct. The RUC is now regularly submitted to the AVG Whitelisting Service, so hopefully the number of false positives should be minimal.

The Firmware Tool
If, for any reason, you are unable to run the RUC successfully (or if you only have a Linux PC), then you can try The Firmware Tool. Only do this as a last resort, and only after all attempts to run the RUC have failed.

Edits:
25/06/12 : Version 1.4.1 with 2.97 firmware list
08/05/11 : Version 1.4.1 with 2.96 firmware list
10/01/11 : Version 1.4.1 updated for 2.95 firmware
23/07/10 : Version 1.4.0 updated for 2.94 firmware
18/04/10 : Version 1.3.9 updated for 2.93 firmware (includes Lite versions and reading port number)
27/02/10 : Version 1.3.8 upgraded Adam2 router detection
12/01/10 : Version 1.3.7 updated for 2.92 firmware (includes tweaked Adam2 bootloader detection)
25/09/09 : Version 1.3.5 updated for 2.91 firmware
17/04/09 : Version 1.3.4 updated for 2.9 firmware, simplified Adam2 router detection
24/11/08 : Version 1.3.3 updated to warn 605EW, dual antenna owners
23/11/08 : Version 1.3.2 includes 2.8 firmware filenames and no password option
17/10/08 : Version 1.3.1 httpd restart option, updated readme for Vista
06/10/08 : Version 1.3.0 updated for 2.7 firmware, mtd3 backup
23/07/08 : Version 1.2.9 updated for 2.6 firmware and "/etc /" forum bug
22/05/08 : Version 1.2.8 core logic, mtd and vlynq_polarity checks
19/04/08 : Version 1.2.7 has improved Adam2 detection
03/04/08 : Version 1.2.6 includes updated messages regarding new features of 2.5 firmware
02/04/08 : Version 1.2.5 released for the 2.5 firmware release
11/03/08 : Version 1.2.4 released with current config backup problem error trap and larger log capacity
12/02/08 : Version 1.2.1 released with readme notice and Vista telnet tweak
19/11/07 : Version 1.2.0 released with debugging features and manufacturer identification
12/11/07 : Version 1.1.9 linked to (contains debugging options) but not fully released
22/10/07 : Version 1.1.8 released with update for TNETW1350A release
10/10/07 : Version 1.1.7 released with router description filenames and bugfixes
06/10/07 : Version 1.1.6 released with environment script file saving for PC-Tool recovery
24/09/07 : Version 1.1.5 released with current config backup, TNETW1350A RC1 fw support and alternative encryption (which should work on systems where the Blowfish code used in 1.1.4 failed)
10/06/07 : Version 1.1.4 released with improved wireless detection (now based on 4 checks)
09/06/07 : Version 1.1.3 released which supports the RouterTech firmware version 2.3
19/04/07 : Version 1.1.0 replaced with 1.1.1 to improve wireless detection & with more documentation and warnings
07/04/07 : Version 1.0.8 replaced with 1.1.0 to improve wireless detection
Last edited by Neo on Fri Aug 21, 2009 11:26 pm, edited 30 times in total.
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
TheVice
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 6:14 pm

Post by TheVice » Sat Apr 07, 2007 10:33 am

Good tool ... but on my Roper Flynet Adsl/Adsl2+ Wireless router it reports an errata firmware to download ! (it indicate the non wireless version) please fix this !

I started the tool from my wireless connection on my notebook .
All router's data in the report are correct except the "Wireless : No" but the
"Board Type" is correctly reported as Wireless and all data about boot loader and TNETW are right.
Finally the AR7RD firmware is indicated but the AR7WRD is required !
Firmware version on my router is an RT v2.1
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:34 am

Thanks for the feedback. Please can you send me a PM with the check*.txt file that the RUC generates - thanks :)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Sat Apr 07, 2007 6:54 pm

The new version (1.1.0) now correctly identifies the Roper Flynet Adsl/Adsl2+ Wireless router as wireless :)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
FalkensMaze
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 1:20 am

Post by FalkensMaze » Sun May 13, 2007 11:29 am

Nice idea, shame I don't own a windows box to run it on...

:(
Douse
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 4:42 am

Doesn't run

Post by Douse » Thu May 31, 2007 4:53 am

Hey, cool program, but doesn't seem to run :(

Loads a bit then nothing happens, but its still a running process in task manager.
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4769
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: Doesn't run

Post by Shotokan101 » Thu May 31, 2007 7:43 am

Douse wrote:Hey, cool program, but doesn't seem to run :(

Loads a bit then nothing happens, but its still a running process in task manager.
Have you checked this thread ?

viewtopic.php?t=1107&highlight=checker
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Thu May 31, 2007 10:56 am

See the readme file too ;)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
SimpleNick
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:51 am

Post by SimpleNick » Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:41 am

Tried to use the RUC with Aztech DSL605EW on Vista according to the four steps of installation.

when double click to start the RUC, the following error is returned:

Run-time error "-2147221504 (80040000)':
Incorrect Size descriptor in Blowfish decryption


Anyway i can get it to work?
is DSL605EW compatible with current versions of RT firmwares?
Attachments
Image 354 x 172 (32 bit).png
RUC error prompt.
Image 354 x 172 (32 bit).png (7.79 KiB) Viewed 192399 times
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12064
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Sun Jun 17, 2007 7:35 am

Have no idea what that error message means. If the 605EW is the one with all that power over ethernet stuff, then our firmware would not support it.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:05 pm

SimpleNick wrote:Tried to use the RUC with Aztech DSL605EW on Vista according to the four steps of installation.

when double click to start the RUC, the following error is returned:

Run-time error "-2147221504 (80040000)':
Incorrect Size descriptor in Blowfish decryption
Thanks for the feedback. The RUC hasn't been tested on Vista - I don't have a Vista machine yet, but clearly something is different with how the memory has been allocated for the Blowfish decryption code. which version of Vista do you have? Is your version of Vista 32 or 64 bit?

I think the only way to find out where the problem lies would be for me to get a copy of Vista and debug it on that...which I will do when I build my next PC ;)
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
SimpleNick
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:51 am

Post by SimpleNick » Sat Jun 23, 2007 4:45 pm

Neo, it's a Vista Ultimate 32-bit.
User avatar
SyBorg
Ex RouterTech Team
Ex RouterTech Team
Posts: 1621
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:09 pm
Location: Berkshire
Contact:

Post by SyBorg » Sun Jun 24, 2007 12:22 pm

Neo,

Having got my Vista Home Premium machine working again I just tried the RUC. I tried running the exe about 30 seconds ago. So far I see nothing other an entry in the Processes list for ruc.exe taking about 50% of the CPUs on my dual core machine...

Let me know if you want some more testing done.
We learn something every day, and lots of times it’s that what we learned the day before was wrong.
—Bill Vaughan
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Sun Jun 24, 2007 1:09 pm

@ SimpleNick - thanks for the info :)

@ SyBorg - thanks for the offer :)

That sounds like it's something early in the program load - normally I would suggest checking the steps in the readme (seeing if somponents are up-to-date etc). It's difficult to know where to start troubleshooting with a new OS because I don't know how many components already exist and if they do exist whether they are compatible :?

I've just placed the order for the components to build a new PC, just don't know if I can justify the expense (to everyone else) for this one software issue :? I'm starting to feel a little buyer's remorse/guilt :lol:
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
Janus
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 4:24 pm
Location: Rosario / Argentina
Contact:

Linux version

Post by Janus » Thu Jul 19, 2007 4:25 pm

Are there any linux version?
Last edited by Janus on Sun Jul 22, 2007 12:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply