RouterTech Firmware v2.3 released

Latest news from RouterTech
Cat007
Novice
Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:57 am

Post by Cat007 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:45 pm

thechief wrote:The short answer is "No". You could however try using the checksync feature (which checks for a WAN connection at certain intervals, and reboots the router if there is no WAN connection). Login via telnet/ssh and run this

Code: Select all

setenv checksynch.sh "1 10"
/sbin/reboot
This will check for a WAN connection every 10 minutes, etc.
BTW will this function work after cold restart (power OFF -> Power On) or i have to write this comands every time after power off of the router?

Tanks in advance
brg
konstantin
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Thu Dec 20, 2007 3:22 pm

You do it only once. It gets written into the environment, and that is persistent.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:18 pm

hyperair wrote:I'll try coming up with a shell script, but I have to learn some stuff first. >< I forgot how to code shell scripts.
Just edit /usr/local/bin/chksync.sh to remove the line that calls "/sbin/reboot", and uncomment the line that calls "killall pppd", and you have a script that kills pppd instead of rebooting the router. The problem is that killing pppd will not always get the job done - and you don't really want to write code to restart pppd manually - it involves passing a tidy number of arguments to pppd, including arguments that you really don't want to put in anything readable (i.e., your ISP username and password).

So, believe me, the solution I gave is likely to be the most reliable.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
hyperair
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 4:04 pm

Post by hyperair » Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:40 pm

I see. Well, a script that could hardcode the arguments given to pppd and write it to the cron would do the job here actually. Perhaps there could be a pppd wrapper, such that when pppd is called, the wrapper is called, and it records the arguments given to it, and sticks itself in the cron, whereby it keeps calling the real pppd binary with the given arguments until it succeeds?
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:46 pm

Well, I wish you the best in trying to do that!
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
hyperair
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 4:04 pm

Post by hyperair » Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:51 pm

Well considering that /usr/sbin/pppd is a file and not a symbolic link and the filesystem is readonly file system, it's impossible short of having a remote file system (or a local minix one) mounted over sbin, or recompiling the whole firmware. =( Looks like it's a lost cause!
Cat007
Novice
Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:57 am

Post by Cat007 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:34 pm

Hello... one little problem again..
I back to home today and no connection on the modem... please see log...
What is the problem...? Have i kick my ISP or problem in my modem?

Modem do nothing... simply no conection (i dont use your advice about setenv)

Jun 4 17:33:08 | Error getting mac from BootLoader enviroment for wlan0
Jun 4 17:33:08 | Using default mac address: 00.50.F1.12.12.10
Jun 4 17:33:08 | Use BootLoader command:
Jun 4 17:33:08 | setenv mac_ap xx.xx.xx.xx.xx.xx
Jun 4 17:33:08 | to set mac address
Jun 4 17:33:08 | Valid Configuration Tree
Jun 4 17:33:08 | NTP Polling Timer for DHCP Started succesfully.
Jun 4 17:33:08 | DSL Polling Timer Started succesfully.
Jun 4 17:33:08 | PSP Boot environment Modem Modulation Change: 0x1
Jun 4 17:33:08 | Firewall NAT service started
Jun 4 17:33:09 | Bridge Created: br0
Jun 4 17:33:12 | Bridge VLAN0 add eth0
Jun 4 17:33:12 | Bridge VLAN AUTO OFF.
Jun 4 17:33:12 | Bridge Created: br1
Jun 4 17:33:16 | WPA Authenticator Started
Jun 4 17:33:16 | Bridge Created: br2
Jun 4 17:33:17 | Bridge Interface Added: eth0
Jun 4 17:33:20 | crond 2.3.2 dillon, started, log level 8
Jun 4 17:33:20 | DSL Carrier is down
Jun 4 17:33:23 | USB enabled
Jun 4 17:33:23 | AP Driver configuration successful
Jun 4 17:33:28 | AP IS UP
Jun 4 17:33:28 | Bridge Interface Added: wlan0
Jun 4 17:33:40 | DSL Carrier is up
Jun 4 17:33:40 | sar read trained mode (1)(ADSL_G.dmt)
Jun 4 17:33:41 | ---}}} Start of connection delayed for 6 sec
Jun 4 17:33:47 | PPPoE Launch after conn delay timeout ...
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Plugin pppoe loaded.
Jun 4 17:33:48 | PPPoE Plugin Initialized
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Plugin pppoe called.
Jun 4 17:33:48 | pppd 2.4.1 started by root, uid 0
Jun 4 17:33:48 | setting line discipline hook
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Sending PADI
Jun 4 17:33:48 | HOST_UNIQ successful match
Jun 4 17:33:48 | HOST_UNIQ successful match
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Unexpected packet: Ether addr: 00:05:1c:1a:0e:d6 (PPPOE Discovery) PPPoE hdr: ver=0x1 type=0x1 code=0x07 sid=0x0000 length=0x0034 (PADO) PPPoE tag: type=0102 length=000c (AC Name) data (UTF-8): pppoe1.st.uz PPPoE tag: type=0101 length=0000 (Service nam
Jun 4 17:33:48 | HOST_UNIQ successful match
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Got connection: 3903
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Start Saving PPPoE Session ID: 0x3903
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Saved Session ID: 0
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Connecting PPPoE socket: 00:0a:eb:5c:67:10 3903 wbif0 0x1000d378
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Using interface ppp0
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Connect: ppp0 {--} wbif0
Jun 4 17:33:48 | MRU: 1500
Jun 4 17:34:09 | local IP address 83.221.183.58
Jun 4 17:34:09 | remote IP address 83.221.180.1
Jun 4 17:34:09 | primary DNS address 83.221.180.1
Jun 4 17:34:09 | secondary DNS address 83.221.168.1
Jun 4 17:34:09 | PPPoE Connect with IP Address 83.221.183.58
Jun 4 17:34:09 | PPPoE Connection Successfully Established
Jun 4 17:34:09 | PPPoE Connect with Gateway IP Address: 83.221.180.1
Jun 4 18:34:13 | DDNS dyndns: Update Successful ip 83.221.183.58 from ppp0
Dec 20 15:02:19 | time disparity of 286408 minutes detected
Dec 20 15:02:23 | up 17184558 seconds, stats for 17184558 seconds:
Dec 20 15:02:23 | thttpd - 0 connections (0.000000/sec), 0 max simultaneous, 0 bytes (0.000000/sec), 0 httpd_conns allocated
Dec 20 15:02:23 | map cache - 0 allocated, 0 active (0 bytes), 0 free; hash size: 0; expire age: 600
Dec 20 15:02:23 | fdwatch - 1 polls (5.81918e-08/sec)
Dec 20 15:02:23 | timers - 3 allocated, 3 active, 0 free
Dec 20 15:19:06 | No response to 10 echo-requests
Dec 20 15:19:06 | Serial link appears to be disconnected.
Dec 20 15:19:06 | MRU: 1500
Dec 20 15:19:12 | PPPoE Exit Status = 15
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Terminated: Peer Not Responding to Echo Requests
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Connection terminated.
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Connect time 286425.3 minutes.
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Sent 1888 bytes, received 5140 bytes.
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Doing disconnect
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Exit.
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Plugin pppoe loaded.
Dec 20 15:19:12 | PPPoE Plugin Initialized
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Plugin pppoe called.
Dec 20 15:19:13 | pppd 2.4.1 started by root, uid 0
Dec 20 15:19:13 | setting line discipline hook
Dec 20 15:19:13 | Sending PADI
Dec 20 15:54:54 | spawned CGI process 405 for file 'cgi-bin/webcm'
Dec 20 15:55:04 | spawned CGI process 408 for file 'cgi-bin/webcm'
Dec 20 15:57:45 | spawned CGI process 412 for file 'cgi-bin/webcm'

a no more actions... no internet connection $(
hyperair
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 4:04 pm

Post by hyperair » Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:52 pm

Are you sure you don't have an internet connection? It looks connected to me. Take a look. Your DynDNS managed to update! Even with a WAN IP!
Cat007
Novice
Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:57 am

Post by Cat007 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:31 pm

hyperair wrote:Are you sure you don't have an internet connection? It looks connected to me. Take a look. Your DynDNS managed to update! Even with a WAN IP!
Yes...of course... no connection...BTW 5 minutes age i had sam situation... ;(

As per log
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Terminated: Peer Not Responding to Echo Requests
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Connection terminated.
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Connect time 286425.3 minutes.
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Sent 1888 bytes, received 5140 bytes.
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Doing disconnect
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Exit.
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Plugin pppoe loaded.
Dec 20 15:19:12 | PPPoE Plugin Initialized
Dec 20 15:19:12 | Plugin pppoe called.
Dec 20 15:19:13 | pppd 2.4.1 started by root, uid 0
Dec 20 15:19:13 | setting line discipline hook
Dec 20 15:19:13 | Sending PADI


session was disconected after that pppd2/4/1/ was started and no any records ... for example see previouse block of my logs

Jun 4 17:33:48 | Plugin pppoe loaded.
Jun 4 17:33:48 | PPPoE Plugin Initialized
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Plugin pppoe called.
Jun 4 17:33:48 | pppd 2.4.1 started by root, uid 0
Jun 4 17:33:48 | setting line discipline hook
Jun 4 17:33:48 | Sending PADI
Jun 4 17:33:48 | HOST_UNIQ successful match
Jun 4 17:33:48 | HOST_UNIQ successful match

same records but some action was performed after pppd 2.4.1 started by root, uid 0.... but in the end of log ... no results and no conection... Dlink do nothing ;(
hyperair
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 4:04 pm

Post by hyperair » Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:34 pm

That looks as if your DSL went out of sync. Could you check your DSL status?
Cat007
Novice
Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:57 am

Post by Cat007 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:49 pm

hyperair wrote:That looks as if your DSL went out of sync. Could you check your DSL status?
on the home page of web interface i found

DSL Status: Connected
DSL Speed: 128/256kbps

i guess that i have problems with pppoe ;(
hyperair
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 4:04 pm

Post by hyperair » Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:52 pm

Hmm, perhaps check your MTU/MRU values? They're in the PPPOE connection page.
Cat007
Novice
Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:57 am

Post by Cat007 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:55 pm

hyperair wrote:Hmm, perhaps check your MTU/MRU values? They're in the PPPOE connection page.
MRU 1492... no MTU field
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:31 pm

MRU=MTU. I think you need to have your phone line checked.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
Cat007
Novice
Novice
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:57 am

Post by Cat007 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:42 pm

thechief wrote:MRU=MTU. I think you need to have your phone line checked.
Is it normal parameters of the line?:
Modem Status
Connection Status Connected
Ds Rate (Kbps) 256
Us Rate (Kbps) 128
DS Margin 31
US Margin 28
DS Line Attenuation 25
US Line Attenuation 10
Trained Modulation ADSL_G.dmt
LOS Errors 0
Peak Cell Rate 301 cells per sec
CRC Rx Fast 0
CRC Tx Fast 0
CRC Rx Interleaved 0
CRC Tx Interleaved 1
Path Mode Interleaved
Locked