Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Utilities and tools for networking, routers, setup etc
Post Reply
geekgirl
Regular
Regular
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by geekgirl » Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:58 pm

PCTool 2.4 also runs with wine-1.4.1
Just need to install VC2008 (for MFC90.dll) before you can run it under wine:

Code: Select all

winetricks vcrun2008
Might also need VB6 runtime environment, which I had already needed to install, to be able to run "MTD Calculator".

Also worth noting, PCTool was helpful also in flashing OpenWRT firmware where FTP client on both debian and win7 failed many times (even when run with sudo on Debian, or as admin on Win7) -- timeout during transfer. To be able to flash OpenWRT firmware with PCTool, I first had to set mtd1 to the same space as mtd4. PCTool also conveniently resets mtd1 to the appropriate size when flashing back to RouterTech firmware, automatically.

Thanks :)
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by thechief » Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:02 pm

geekgirl wrote:PCTool 2.4 also runs with wine-1.4.1
Indeed.
geekgirl wrote:Just need to install VC2008 (for MFC90.dll) before you can run it under wine:
I have never needed to do that (on Ubuntu and Linux Mint).
geekgirl wrote:Might also need VB6 runtime environment, which I had already needed to install, to be able to run "MTD Calculator".
Not needed for PCTool.
geekgirl wrote:Also worth noting, PCTool was helpful also in flashing OpenWRT firmware where FTP client on both debian and win7 failed many times
Interesting!
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
jinaan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 12:11 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by jinaan » Thu Sep 11, 2014 12:25 pm

My Aztech DSL5005 wifi router bricked last week when I was trying to update its firmware, and its almost dead now. so is there a firmware which is suitable for this device. I have tried RUC. It doesnt go beyond 4% and here is the results when I abort it.
00 AM:000 Running script
00 AM:001 Opening connection
00 AM:200 ÿýÿý!ÿûÿûDSL5005EN login:
29 AM:411 DSL5005EN login:
Login timed out after 60 seconds.
29 AM:412 Closed connection.
Aborted by user.
DeepForest
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 8:51 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by DeepForest » Fri May 01, 2015 10:00 pm

Hi!
Win7x64, Dlink 500T
Then i try use ruc_v1.4.1_f297, i always have this error

Code: Select all

Имя сбойного приложения: ruc.exe, версия: 1.4.0.1, отметка времени: 0x4d2a7224
Имя сбойного модуля: unknown, версия: 0.0.0.0, отметка времени 0x00000000
Код исключения: 0xc0000005
Смещение ошибки: 0x00631db0
Идентификатор сбойного процесса: 0x598
Время запуска сбойного приложения: 0x01d08450c5013c5e
Путь сбойного приложения: c:\Users\Procenko\Downloads\ruc_v1.4.1_f297\ruc.exe
Путь сбойного модуля: unknown
Код отчета: 0e6f0b77-f044-11e4-9c49-8ee830da2cce
Then i try use firmware_tool-097b and push Check router it always stop progress check at 28% or 36%
DeepForest
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 8:51 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by DeepForest » Fri May 01, 2015 10:03 pm

UPD1
I select for Dlink 500T routertech-ar7rd-adam2-1port-firmware-20120130 is it right?
But i don`t know 4mb or 2mb firmware i must apply to my router?
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12067
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by thechief » Sat May 02, 2015 8:22 am

If neither the RUC nor the firmwaretool can run successfully, then I think you should NOT try to install RT firmwares.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
mstombs
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3753
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:54 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by mstombs » Sun May 03, 2015 3:30 pm

We had users with a similar name router a long time ago ...

viewtopic.php?t=1145

But it is not unusual for manufacturers to keep the name and change the insides - which is where the ruc comes in to interrogate the current firmware.
paulwebster
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 1:21 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by paulwebster » Fri Jul 17, 2015 11:37 am

I decided to see if I could see why RUC was stopping at 80% whenit is run against my old Hercules DSL router (ar7).

In my case the cm_cli_tty binary is not on the router - so RUC puts a version on it.
This is done by the telnet session issuing a wget against the RUC built-in web server (port 5000).
The wget suceeds but whatever should happen next ... doesn't.
My guess is that RUC would then do a
chmod +x cm_cli_tty
so - perhaps it is waiting for a particular response from wget that never appears.

If I do the chmod I can then run the new /var/cm_cli_tty - so does look like the wget worked.

Doing the same thing by hand shows that when the wget completes then all that comes back over the telnet session is the "#" prompt on newline.

# pwd
/var
# rm cm_cli_tty
# ls
cache flash lock proc tmp var
dev lib log run upgrader webport
# wget http://192.168.38.4:5000/cm_cli_tty
# ls
cache flash log tmp webport
cm_cli_tty lib proc upgrader
dev lock run var


The wget on this system identifies itself like this:
# wget
BusyBox v0.61.pre (2007.08.14-07:24+0000) multi-call binary

Usage: wget [-c|--continue] [-q|--quiet] [-O|--output-document file]
[--header 'header: value'] [-Y|--proxy on/off] [-P DIR] url

I see a few references here opn the forum to things sticking at 80% - and the usual response is to suggest disabling the backup function in RUC - which does not clear the problem.
I will try to run the other firmware checker tool later - but perhaps someone with the source code to RUC could check to see what it expects after issuing the "wget"?
DennisinSA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:18 am

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by DennisinSA » Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:37 am

Please help, I am trying to download the Router Upgrade Checker on Post 1, but I get the error message; "File on record does not exist on file system."

Thanks in advance
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4779
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by Shotokan101 » Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:03 pm

DennisinSA wrote:Please help, I am trying to download the Router Upgrade Checker on Post 1, but I get the error message; "File on record does not exist on file system."

Thanks in advance
http://neolics.com/blog/?p=35

Problem has been flagged and the site owner is working with the web host to resolve.

Jim
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
remedy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2020 5:20 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by remedy » Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:32 pm

Hi!
It seems the download issue still persists.

Does anyone have backups of the firmware files to share?

Thanks!
User avatar
Shotokan101
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 4779
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by Shotokan101 » Mon Jan 27, 2020 12:36 am

Which ones specifically?
Jim

.....I'm Sorry But I Can't Do That Dave.....
Kunstkamera
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 2:19 pm

Re: Router Upgrade Checker (Class II routers only)

Post by Kunstkamera » Mon Mar 16, 2020 2:35 pm

Hi guys!I trying to download any RUC (all 3 files from first post) but this files not download.
Help please :wink:
Post Reply