RouterTech Firmware 2.9 Discussion

All about firmwares for routers. Support for RouterTech firmwares is here too.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kieran
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 2671
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:30 am
Location: London
Contact:

RouterTech Firmware 2.9 Discussion

Post by Kieran » Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:26 am

This is the place to discuss (thanks, suggestions, criticisms etc.) the v2.9 release of the RouterTech firmware, available for download here

For support, problems, bugs or other such firmware related questions or issues, please start a new thread
Kieran
"Indeed!"
Invaluable links: Forum Rules | Networking Guides | FAQ | Site Search | Forum Search <-- Use it or feel my wrath!
No support via PM, please ask your questions in the forum!
brylok1981
Regular
Regular
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 11:58 pm

Asmax AR 804gu (Solwise SAR-600EW ADSL2/2+)

Post by brylok1981 » Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:00 pm

Hello

i have just upload the 2.9 firmware to my router with pctools 2.1 and upload my configuration backup via web interface and all seams to work :)

thanks for all
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Re: Asmax AR 804gu (Solwise SAR-600EW ADSL2/2+)

Post by thechief » Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:43 pm

brylok1981 wrote:and upload my configuration backup via web interface
Please note that this is NOT recommended. The firmware should be reconfigured manually, not by restoring saved backups. There are many significant differences in config.xml, and you don't really want to overwrite them with old ones..
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
User avatar
der_Kief
Regular
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:05 am
Location: Germany, ES

Post by der_Kief » Sat Apr 18, 2009 11:37 pm

Hi,

does this new version support devices with 2MB flash ?
I didnt found a notice about that in actual release notes.
The only thing i found was a notice in the ver. 2.8 release note:

5. This is the last firmware release for routers with 2mb flash.

der_Kief
| ADSL2+ | AR860 (Routertech) | WRT54GL (Tomato) | NSLU2 (Debian) |
Chris_TG
Novice
Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 3:08 pm

Post by Chris_TG » Sat Apr 18, 2009 11:47 pm

v2.9 AnnexB image is unfortunately faulty!
It seems to be an image with AnnexA DSP instead:

Code: Select all

Driver version information
Core Logic version: 3.6.0D 
Texas Instruments CPMAC driver version: 1.5
Texas Instruments CPMAC HAL version: CPMAC 01.07.08 Apr 15 2009 07:35:15
ATM Driver version:[7.03.09.00]
DSL HAL version: [7.03.00.01]
DSP Datapump version: [7.03.01.00] Annex A
SAR HAL version: [01.07.2c]
PDSP Firmware version:[0.54]
Chipset ID: [Ohio250(7200/7100A2)]
Or am I missing something?! TIA!

Chris
mstombs
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3753
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:54 pm

Post by mstombs » Sun Apr 19, 2009 1:49 am

der_Kief wrote:Hi,

does this new version support devices with 2MB flash ?
I didnt found a notice about that in actual release notes.
The only thing i found was a notice in the ver. 2.8 release note:

5. This is the last firmware release for routers with 2mb flash.

der_Kief
Yes you will find new 2MB flash versions, the support has been extended with the pppoe/ memory improvements that have been worked on.
Chris_TG wrote:v2.9 AnnexB image is unfortunately faulty!
It seems to be an image with AnnexA DSP instead:
Please advise exactly which firmware in which download and I'm sure it will be fixed quickly!
Chris_TG
Novice
Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 3:08 pm

Post by Chris_TG » Sun Apr 19, 2009 1:58 am

mstombs wrote:
Chris_TG wrote:v2.9 AnnexB image is unfortunately faulty!
It seems to be an image with AnnexA DSP instead:
Please advise exactly which firmware in which download and I'm sure it will be fixed quickly!
Okay, thanks! :)
I got this issue with the Annex-B image from the archive "routertech-ar7rd-pspboot-1port-firmware-20090415.zip"

cheers,
Chris
User avatar
notinthisworld
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:28 am

Post by notinthisworld » Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:20 am

hi,

RUC can't detect the type of flash chip i have in my Aztech DSL605EW.

and then advised me not to upgrade to routertech firmware.
Image
User avatar
Neo
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 3583
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Neo » Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:42 pm

notinthisworld wrote:RUC can't detect the type of flash chip i have in my Aztech DSL605EW.

and then advised me not to upgrade to routertech firmware.
Please can you post/attach the complete RUC output.
RouterTech Team
Image
No support via PM, please ask your questions on the forum!
User avatar
notinthisworld
Experienced
Experienced
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:28 am

Post by notinthisworld » Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:25 pm

file attached
Attachments
ruc_.zip
(4.26 KiB) Downloaded 304 times
Image
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:38 pm

The Asian dual-antenna DSL605EW was not supported by v2.8 (because of "errata" in the flash chips in some batches, which were later fixed in subsequent batches). This should be okay now in v2.9, as we have found work-arounds for the errata. However, as usual, your mileage may vary. Be prepared for un-bricking, if it all goes pear shaped.
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
weedy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 2:08 am

Post by weedy » Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:50 pm

Chris_TG wrote:
mstombs wrote:
Chris_TG wrote:v2.9 AnnexB image is unfortunately faulty!
It seems to be an image with AnnexA DSP instead:
Please advise exactly which firmware in which download and I'm sure it will be fixed quickly!
Okay, thanks! :)
I got this issue with the Annex-B image from the archive "routertech-ar7rd-pspboot-1port-firmware-20090415.zip"

cheers,
Chris
hi everyone :)

i also got the same issue with this image :(
anyway great work with this firmware..i realy like that kind of mods :D

weedy
User avatar
thechief
RouterTech Team
RouterTech Team
Posts: 12066
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: England, the Centre of Africa
Contact:

Post by thechief » Sun Apr 19, 2009 6:07 pm

Yes, problem noted. Rebuild going on right now ...
The Chief: :afro: Be sure to read the Firmware FAQ and do a Forum Search before posting!
No support via PM. Ask all questions on the open forum.
brylok1981
Regular
Regular
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 11:58 pm

Re: Asmax AR 804gu (Solwise SAR-600EW ADSL2/2+)

Post by brylok1981 » Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:08 pm

thechief wrote:
brylok1981 wrote:and upload my configuration backup via web interface
Please note that this is NOT recommended. The firmware should be reconfigured manually, not by restoring saved backups. There are many significant differences in config.xml, and you don't really want to overwrite them with old ones..
HI

can i update my config backup file to 2.9?
User avatar
hadiceberg
Novice
Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 6:19 pm

Post by hadiceberg » Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:22 pm

I can't connect to my ISP using RT v2.9 nor v2.8
Anyone managed to establish PPPoE on a D-Link DSL-2640T ?
Post Reply